The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 27, 2004, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 965
NFHS

I have been debating this with my father who is a 27 year official and interpreter for his assosiation on a rule interp, and would like your thoughts. I know I shouldn't argue with my Pops, but we agree to disagree.

The Rule is 4-19-6 Player Control Foul. Case Book 4-19-6-C

The situation is: A1 leaves the floor on a shot attempt. B1 is stationary trying to draw the charge on A1. Before contact by A1 against B1, B2 goaltends the shot by A1. The rule states the basket counts, and B will get the ball on the player control foul. But, in 4-19-6-A the rule seems to contradict itself because of the player control foul.

4-19-6 states, a player control foul is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter.

I interpret it that an airborne shooter is responsible for his/her actions until one foot touches the floor.





__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 27, 2004, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,274
General Rule is that no basket can score on a PC Foul.

However in the play you are talking about you have separate and independent actions.

A1 shoots (and is airborne)
B2 Goaltends. At that point ball is dead basket is scored.
A1 then committs PC foul (the foul cannot be ignored)

The airborne shooter is also an exception to the dead ball foul...

If there was no goaltending the basket would not count. However the independent actions of B cause the ball to score

Just like nearly everything in NFHS you always take the violation, foul, infraction in order..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 27, 2004, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 737
Even if the player-control contact happened BEFORE the ball was goaltended, the basket would count.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 27, 2004, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
The umpferee, the rule does not contradict itself. A violation occurs while the ball is still live. The foul would cause the ball to become dead. Count the basket.

Quote:
Originally posted by TriggerMN
Even if the player-control contact happened BEFORE the ball was goaltended, the basket would count.
Not true.

If the foul occurs first, the ball is dead, and the GT is ignored.

The only way a basket can be awarded when a PC foul occurs is if the GT occurs before the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 27, 2004, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 965
Would it be the same ruling in NCAA considering there is no airborne shooter?

Or am I misinterpreting the rule?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 27, 2004, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
The ruling would be the same I beleive. The only difference in the NCAA Men's rule versus the NFHS rule is that if the shot is released prior to contact, the basket counts if it goes in, under NCAA Men's rules.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1