The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 01, 2009, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
AP Throw-in Mistake

Arrow mistakes are covered in Casebook 6.4.1 Situation D. It appears as though an error can be corrected anytime until the throw-in ends. Rulebook 4.42.5 tells us that the throw-in ends when one of three things happends:

Rulebook 4.42.5

The throw-in ends when:

A: The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds
B: The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7. After a made basket, or BI/Goaltending etc...
C: The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.


Reading Casebook 6.4.1 isn't entirely clear, however, in the actual administration. The casebook play involves a foul prior to the throw-in ending:

Casebook 6.4.1:

It is Team B's turn for the next throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. Team A (a) commits a throw-in violation, or (b) releases the ball on the alternating-possession throw-in, but before the ball is legally touched inbounds, Team A or Team B commits a foul. RULING: Once the throw-in ends--it is too late to change anything. In (a), the throw-in ends when Team A violates and results in a throw-in for Team B as well as the arrow for the next alternating possession. In (b), the alternating possession throw-in did not end when the foul occured. Therefore, the alternating-possesion mistake is corrected and the arrow now favors Team B; penalize the foul appropriately.

To me: For (a), it seems as though Team B will receive a (non-AP) throw-in for the violation by Team A, as well as the next alternating possession throw-in. For (b), it appears less clear. Do we penalize the foul and award the ball OOB or administer free throws if in the bonus, and just let Team B retain the AP arrow for the next AP throw-in? Or, do we just report the foul, and then give Team B the ball for the AP throw-in, because the previous throw-in had not ended and it was still "correctable."

Consider the following scenarios. The first two deal with violations by Team B, which accoring to 4.42.5, do not cause the throw-in to end. The third is a double foul, which normally goes to POI...where is the POI here? The throw-in hasn't ended yet. The last deals with a held ball.

Situation 1:

It is Team B's turn for the alternating possession throw-in. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. A1 releases the ball for the throw-in and B1 violates by kicking the ball. The officials then realize their error.. RULING:

Situation 2:

It is Team B's turn for the alternating possession throw-in. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. B1 reaches across the boundary plane and the official going to the table to report the Delay of Game warning and the officials then realize their error.. RULING:

Situation 3:

It is Team B's turn for the alternating possession throw-in. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. A1 releases the ball on the alternating possession throw-in and prior to the ball being legally touched inbounds, A2 and B2 commit double fouls. The official is going to the table to report the fouls and the officials then realize their error.

Situation 4:

It is Team B's turn for the alternating possession throw-in. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. A1 holds the ball across the boundary line and B1 grabs the ball and the official whistles a held ball. The officials then realize their error.

Thoughts!? (and prayers that you never get yourself into a situation with an arrow mistake!)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AP Throw in Mistake palmettoref Basketball 5 Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:49pm
Would you fix this mistake? WestMichBlue Softball 8 Mon Jul 07, 2008 10:37am
Official mistake on free throw oldschool Basketball 4 Sat Jan 05, 2008 06:09am
Big Mistake PIAA REF Basketball 27 Fri Feb 16, 2007 04:55pm
Another ASA mistake? greymule Softball 6 Fri Oct 03, 2003 12:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1