View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2009, 01:18am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
We discussed these situations a couple of years ago when the rule about how a throw-in ends was clarified.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdub View Post

Situation 1:

It is Team B's turn for the alternating possession throw-in. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. A1 releases the ball for the throw-in and B1 violates by kicking the ball. The officials then realize their error.. RULING:
The penalty for the violation gets ignored and the ball is awarded to Team B for an alternating-possession throw-in as the kicking is not a legal touch, so the throw-in had not yet ended when the mistake was realized. Therefore, it will be corrected now.

Situation 2:

It is Team B's turn for the alternating possession throw-in. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. B1 reaches across the boundary plane and the official going to the table to report the Delay of Game warning and the officials then realize their error.. RULING:
Report the team warning for delay against Team B, then correct the throw-in mistake by awarding the ball to Team B for an AP throw-in. The mistake can still be fixed at this point as the previous throw-in did not properly end.

Situation 3:

It is Team B's turn for the alternating possession throw-in. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. A1 releases the ball on the alternating possession throw-in and prior to the ball being legally touched inbounds, A2 and B2 commit double fouls. The official is going to the table to report the fouls and the officials then realize their error.
Report the double foul, then correct the throw-in mistake. Team B shall be awarded an AP throw-in right now as the previous throw-in did not end.


Situation 4:

It is Team B's turn for the alternating possession throw-in. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. A1 holds the ball across the boundary line and B1 grabs the ball and the official whistles a held ball. The officials then realize their error.
Since the held ball occurred PRIOR to A1 releasing the ball, the throw-in did not end. Therefore, the mistake is corrected and Team B is now awarded an AP throw-in.

Thoughts!? (and prayers that you never get yourself into a situation with an arrow mistake!)
Deducing these rulings from the guiding principle of when a throw-in ends is not hard.
Reply With Quote