The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
From NFHS 4-12-1 "...There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble.

So, during a jump ball, A2 jumps towards B2, catches the ball in the air, then lands on B2 before returning to the floor. Is this not a PC foul because A2 has not touched the floor? Or does it become a PC foul the moment A2 touches B2 who is a non-jumper?

If this is not a PC foul then ... the possession arrow is set to A when the ball is put at B's thrower for the ensuing throw-in or free throw? If this is a PC foul, then the arrow is set to B immediately?
What exactly does this mean?

In your sitch, are A2 and B2 the jumpers or non-jumpers? I am assuming they are non-jumpers otherwise you would have called them A1 and B1.

If so, you can't have A2 catching the ball "during" a jump ball. When A2 catches the ball the jump ball has ended and all normal rules apply. If A2 happens to be a jumper then 6-3-7(c) applies.

I think.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1