The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 07:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
What exactly does this mean?

From NFHS 4-12-1 "...There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble.

So, during a jump ball, A2 jumps towards B2, catches the ball in the air, then lands on B2 before returning to the floor. Is this not a PC foul because A2 has not touched the floor? Or does it become a PC foul the moment A2 touches B2 who is a non-jumper?

If this is not a PC foul then ... the possession arrow is set to A when the ball is put at B's thrower for the ensuing throw-in or free throw? If this is a PC foul, then the arrow is set to B immediately?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 07:24pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,985
Wouldn't this be a violation as soon as A2 caught the ball, making the ball dead and A2's contact nothing (unless deemed to be the level of a technical foul)?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 08:15pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,354
This Could Happen, Probably Not, But It Could ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
From NFHS 4-12-1 "...There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble. So, during a jump ball, A2 jumps towards B2, catches the ball in the air, then lands on B2 before returning to the floor. Is this not a PC foul because A2 has not touched the floor? Or does it become a PC foul the moment A2 touches B2 who is a non-jumper?
Back In The Saddle: You've got way too much time on your hands. Good question. I've never heard anyone ever discuss this situation before. I hope the NFHS rules committee, and the rules editor, see your post. It will give them the mother of all headaches.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 08:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,354
"Jumpin' Jack Flash" (The Rolling Stones, 1968) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Wouldn't this be a violation as soon as A2 caught the ball, making the ball dead and A2's contact nothing (unless deemed to be the level of a technical foul)?
I think that Back In The Saddle was referring to nonjumpers.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
From NFHS 4-12-1 "...There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble.

So, during a jump ball, A2 jumps towards B2, catches the ball in the air, then lands on B2 before returning to the floor. Is this not a PC foul because A2 has not touched the floor? Or does it become a PC foul the moment A2 touches B2 who is a non-jumper?

If this is not a PC foul then ... the possession arrow is set to A when the ball is put at B's thrower for the ensuing throw-in or free throw? If this is a PC foul, then the arrow is set to B immediately?
What exactly does this mean?

In your sitch, are A2 and B2 the jumpers or non-jumpers? I am assuming they are non-jumpers otherwise you would have called them A1 and B1.

If so, you can't have A2 catching the ball "during" a jump ball. When A2 catches the ball the jump ball has ended and all normal rules apply. If A2 happens to be a jumper then 6-3-7(c) applies.

I think.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 08:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Reading is so fundamental.

Yep, I blew it. I completely missed the word "jumper" in there. I was envisioning a non-jumper jumping, catching the ball, and landing on another non-jumper opponent.

I'm going to go find Dick, Jane and Spot and work on my fundamentals.

__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 08:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Many thanks BITS! You have provided me some great entertainment today.

I have been accused of a lot of things but today was the first time I have ever been accused of "shoehorning." That along with your post in "How does this stupid noose work" has made today priceless.

Man, I love this forum!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 11:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I think that Back In The Saddle was referring to nonjumpers.
Right. It means that if one of the jumpers catches the ball before the jump ball is ended, there's no Player Control and thus no Team Control. That's what it means.
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 30, 2009, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Because if the jumper A1 caught the ball and it was considered player control, you'd have to give B the ball for the violation, and then give B the arrow, because A had initial possession.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 30, 2009, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
Many thanks BITS! You have provided me some great entertainment today.

I have been accused of a lot of things but today was the first time I have ever been accused of "shoehorning." That along with your post in "How does this stupid noose work" has made today priceless.

Man, I love this forum!
I'm happy to be of some use
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 730
Jump Ball/ AP arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown View Post
Because if the jumper A1 caught the ball and it was considered player control, you'd have to give B the ball for the violation, and then give B the arrow, because A had initial possession.
Frank, do I read your statement correctly? This ruling changed a few years ago. There is no longer a double penality if a "Jumper" catches the ball.
If A1 catches the ball before the 'Jump Ball' requirements end, then Team B would get the ball Out of Bounds and Team A would get the AP arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Thumbs up Jump Ball

I agree with Zoochy!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 02:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
Frank, do I read your statement correctly? This ruling changed a few years ago. There is no longer a double penality if a "Jumper" catches the ball.
If A1 catches the ball before the 'Jump Ball' requirements end, then Team B would get the ball Out of Bounds and Team A would get the AP arrow.
That was Frank's point. If there was player/team control on that intial catch, the ruling Frank gives would be correct. Since there is no player control there, it's different.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Question The Basketball

Is this a trick question? The Basketball shall be spherical and have a deeply pebbled coverwith any number of horizonally shaped panels.
the book doesn't state how many panels, so I think the anser is TRUE???
Am I missing something here?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 03:20pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeacosta View Post
Is this a trick question? The Basketball shall be spherical and have a deeply pebbled coverwith any number of horizonally shaped panels.
the book doesn't state how many panels, so I think the anser is TRUE???
Am I missing something here?
It used to be specified. Does that help?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1