![]() |
What exactly does this mean?
From NFHS 4-12-1 "...There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble.
So, during a jump ball, A2 jumps towards B2, catches the ball in the air, then lands on B2 before returning to the floor. Is this not a PC foul because A2 has not touched the floor? Or does it become a PC foul the moment A2 touches B2 who is a non-jumper? If this is not a PC foul then ... the possession arrow is set to A when the ball is put at B's thrower for the ensuing throw-in or free throw? If this is a PC foul, then the arrow is set to B immediately? |
Wouldn't this be a violation as soon as A2 caught the ball, making the ball dead and A2's contact nothing (unless deemed to be the level of a technical foul)?
|
This Could Happen, Probably Not, But It Could ...
Quote:
|
"Jumpin' Jack Flash" (The Rolling Stones, 1968) ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
In your sitch, are A2 and B2 the jumpers or non-jumpers? I am assuming they are non-jumpers otherwise you would have called them A1 and B1. If so, you can't have A2 catching the ball "during" a jump ball. When A2 catches the ball the jump ball has ended and all normal rules apply. If A2 happens to be a jumper then 6-3-7(c) applies. I think. |
Reading is so fundamental.
Yep, I blew it. I completely missed the word "jumper" in there. I was envisioning a non-jumper jumping, catching the ball, and landing on another non-jumper opponent. I'm going to go find Dick, Jane and Spot and work on my fundamentals. :o |
Many thanks BITS! You have provided me some great entertainment today.
I have been accused of a lot of things but today was the first time I have ever been accused of "shoehorning." That along with your post in "How does this stupid noose work" has made today priceless. Man, I love this forum! :D |
Quote:
|
Because if the jumper A1 caught the ball and it was considered player control, you'd have to give B the ball for the violation, and then give B the arrow, because A had initial possession.
|
Quote:
|
Jump Ball/ AP arrow
Quote:
If A1 catches the ball before the 'Jump Ball' requirements end, then Team B would get the ball Out of Bounds and Team A would get the AP arrow. |
Jump Ball
I agree with Zoochy!
|
Quote:
|
The Basketball
Is this a trick question? The Basketball shall be spherical and have a deeply pebbled coverwith any number of horizonally shaped panels.
the book doesn't state how many panels, so I think the anser is TRUE??? Am I missing something here? |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16am. |