The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 28, 2009, 08:37am
CLH CLH is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to CLH Send a message via Yahoo to CLH
Those are good questions regarding the cancellation of the first free throw guys. I could be wrong, but my take is that a violation by the shooting team would have cancelled that first free throw, then surely a foul must do the same. Kinda vague on this ruling huh?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 28, 2009, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 56
i think that it is a contact technical foul..no shots awarded for team A and 2 shots for B and then poi..?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 28, 2009, 09:01am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nagy0716 View Post
i think that it is a contact technical foul..no shots awarded for team A and 2 shots for B and then poi..?
Why do you think it was a contact technical foul?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 28, 2009, 09:05am
CLH CLH is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to CLH Send a message via Yahoo to CLH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nagy0716 View Post
i think that it is a contact technical foul..no shots awarded for team A and 2 shots for B and then poi..?
1) There are no technicals for contact except during a deadball. Check your foul summary in the back of the book.

2) The question states that "A2 fouls B1" that means you have a common foul. If you take this as a technical foul then you are changing the question. Don't read more into it than there is.

*This is a liveball situation, therefore it is just a common team control foul, cannot be a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 28, 2009, 11:08am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLH View Post
Those are good questions regarding the cancellation of the first free throw guys. I could be wrong, but my take is that a violation by the shooting team would have cancelled that first free throw, then surely a foul must do the same. Kinda vague on this ruling huh?
On a violation by Team A, we cancel the free throw since that's the specific penalty spelled out by 9-2-1. You won't find anywhere that a foul committed during a free throw cancels any merited free throws.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 28, 2009, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLH View Post
Those are good questions regarding the cancellation of the first free throw guys. I could be wrong, but my take is that a violation by the shooting team would have canceled that first free throw, then surely a foul must do the same. Kinda vague on this ruling huh?
Why would you think that the penalty for one type of infraction has to be the same as another?

If the defense violates during the FT, the shooter gets a new shot if they miss. However, if the defense fouls during the FT, that doesn't cause the shooter to get a new shot unless the defense independently violates.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 28, 2009, 11:48am
CLH CLH is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to CLH Send a message via Yahoo to CLH
4.30.3d- A free throw ends when: The ball becomes dead

Ball becomes dead when A1 committed the foul.

Thus, the free throw has ended.


*I always find it interesting how many different ways we can all interpret ONE rule. LOL
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 28, 2009, 01:13pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLH View Post
4.30.3d- A free throw ends when: The ball becomes dead

Ball becomes dead when A1 committed the foul.

Thus, the free throw has ended.


*I always find it interesting how many different ways we can all interpret ONE rule. LOL
As someone pointed out earlier, granting a Time Out to the shooting team would also make the ball dead. Would the free throw end then also?

Violations and fouls don't carry the same consequences. A violation by the throw-in team on a AP throw in would cause the arrow to change, a foul by the throw-in team would not.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 28, 2009, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLH View Post
4.30.3d- A free throw ends when: The ball becomes dead

Ball becomes dead when A1 committed the foul.

Thus, the free throw has ended.


*I always find it interesting how many different ways we can all interpret ONE rule. LOL
Not really. It is interesting how some people can completely misinterpret and/or misapply a rule in a vacuum.

The free throw may have ended, but it can end in many ways.

The FT can also end and the ball become dead if B4 fouls A4 (A's worst FT shooter) before A1 (A's best FT shooter) is in the act of shooting. Do you really think B could, by committing another foul, kill A1's shot(s) and force A4 to the line instead? Of course not.

The FT ending has no effect on the subsquent awarding of a FT. If the FT has not been taken (released), it has not been taken. A only loses the right to the FT by violation the FT itself....not by an unrelated infraction.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Oct 28, 2009 at 01:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 28, 2009, 03:19pm
CLH CLH is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to CLH Send a message via Yahoo to CLH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Not really. It is interesting how some people can completely misinterpret and/or misapply a rule in a vacuum.

The free throw may have ended, but it can end in many ways.

The FT can also end and the ball become dead if B4 fouls A4 (A's worst FT shooter) before A1 (A's best FT shooter) is in the act of shooting. Do you really think B could, by committing another foul, kill A1's shot(s) and force A4 to the line instead? Of course not.

The FT ending has no effect on the subsquent awarding of a FT. If the FT has not been taken (released), it has not been taken. A only loses the right to the FT by violation the FT itself....not by an unrelated infraction.

Good point, give him his free throws
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
college goaltending question cmathews Basketball 43 Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:47am
College Question and observations. Chess Ref Basketball 4 Wed Jan 03, 2007 03:17am
A question for those of you who do both HS and college Mark Padgett Basketball 16 Mon Nov 06, 2006 02:53pm
College Question buckrog64 Basketball 1 Mon Jan 16, 2006 07:07pm
College question Junker Basketball 17 Wed Sep 28, 2005 01:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1