The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 07, 2009, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peach State Ref View Post
Intermission prior to the start of the 4th quarter. Neither team substitutes during the 1 minute intermission. Team B breaks their huddle to inbound the ball, Team A is still huddling. At the 2nd buzzer to end the intermission, Team A is still huddling, so official sounds whistle and hands the ball to A1 for throw-in to begin 4th quarter.

Four(4) players from Team A then break the huddle and race onto the court to play defense. A5 has her back to situation and turns around to see the ball in play and her teammates on the court playing defense. Confused, A5 walks to the scoring table and kneels down in front of the table, the same process that any substitute would follow while the ball is live. Following an approximate 20-second timeframe, Team A acquires possession and moves the ball to their frontcourt. At the time of the ball moving to the frontcourt, A5 rises and enters the game during the live ball. A5 entering the game was of no advantage or deceitful.

What do you have? Please site rule and casebook if applicable.


This was the official who raised the questions thoughts on the matter:

Basis for no technical foul, Case play 10.3.2 situation B, pg 80-81(2008)
A5's return to the court was not deceitful, no did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage on the court.

Basis for yes technical foul, Case play 10.1.9 pg 79-80(2008)
While it is true the entire team may be off the court while the procedure is being used, once a team responds, all players must enter the court at approximately the same time.
Ok, either I'm not following things correctly, or there was a typo by OP. First, as I read it, A1 has the throw-in, then 4 members of team A rush unto the court? Should B1 have the throw-in? Also, was A5 already on the floor and walked back to the scorer's table? Or was A5 still in the bench area, then walked to the scorer's table?

If A1 had the throw-in, with 4 teammates on the floor, then it's a T when A5 came unto the floor, per 10.2.2. If it is indeed B1's throw-in, then was A5 already on the court with 4 teammates, then walked off to the scorer's table, while A played with 4? In reading the play, it sounds like A5 stayed in the bench area, then walked to the table while her teammates played with 4, until she came out unto the court. If that's the case, then the T is covered by 10.1.9.

I think this may have been discussed before, but what if A5 stayed at the table until the next dead ball - is it still a T under 10.1.9? The case play seems to imply the T is called as soon as the player enters the court, so if A5 nevers enters (until the next proper dead ball), is there still a T, even though A is also disadvantaged by only playing with 4?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bench Technical vs. Player Technical whistlesblow Basketball 25 Tue Jan 20, 2009 08:09am
Delay - Team Technical or Player Technical? BillyMac Basketball 11 Mon Nov 26, 2007 06:30pm
Technical WinterWillie Basketball 1 Sun Dec 11, 2005 08:39pm
how are deadball and live ball fouls on touchdown administered timharris Football 3 Mon Nov 17, 2003 01:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1