I need some opinions and direction regarding the ball passing through the basket from below.
Rulebook 9-4 states, "... or cause it to enter and pass through the basket from below.
The Casebook states, "The ball becomes dead when it enters from below and passes through."
My questions lies in whether the ball must pass through the basket and the entire ball be above rim level for the violation; or is a violation still warranted if the ball passes through the net and approximately half of the ball rises above the rim level, before beginning the downward path.
Image: Figure A = Violation, Would Figure B warrant a violation?