The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   9-4; Through the Basket from Below (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51376-9-4-through-basket-below.html)

rgncjn Mon Feb 02, 2009 09:09pm

9-4; Through the Basket from Below
 
I need some opinions and direction regarding the ball passing through the basket from below.

Rulebook 9-4 states, "... or cause it to enter and pass through the basket from below.

The Casebook states, "The ball becomes dead when it enters from below and passes through."

My questions lies in whether the ball must pass through the basket and the entire ball be above rim level for the violation; or is a violation still warranted if the ball passes through the net and approximately half of the ball rises above the rim level, before beginning the downward path.

Image: Figure A = Violation, Would Figure B warrant a violation?
http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/810...3419fd2.th.jpg

williebfree Mon Feb 02, 2009 09:15pm

AND Passes THROUGH
 
I would not call the violation unless the ball is above the rim; however, I do not have an issue with others who would call it if any part of the ball enters the rim from below.

BillyMac Mon Feb 02, 2009 10:34pm

Things That Make You Go Hmmm ...
 
I actually had this call last week, first time in twenty-eight years, but in my case the ball didn't come back down through the basket, it rolled off the rim, to the side. Easy Call.

MatthewPV Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:26pm

Do we then go to the arrow?

BillyMac Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:28pm

Alternating Possession ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 575130)
Do we then go to the arrow?

I believe that there are only two choices here. It's either a violation, or it's not a violation.

MatthewPV Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:32pm

So whomever last touches it, it would be the other teams ball based on the violation, right?

BillyMac Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:41pm

"You Are Correrct, Sir" (Ed McMahon)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 575133)
So whomever last touches it, it would be the other teams ball based on the violation, right?

Rule 9 Violations SECTION 4 TRAVEL, KICK, FIST:
A player shall not travel with the ball, as in 4-44, intentionally kick it, as in 4-29, strike it with the fist or cause it to enter and pass through the basket from below.
NOTE: Kicking the ball is a violation only when it is an intentional act; accidentally striking the ball with the foot or leg is not a violation.
PENALTY: The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation.

williebfree Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:41pm

Yes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MatthewPV (Post 575133)
So whomever last touches it, it would be the other teams ball based on the violation, right?

I had this play occur in an 8th grade girls game. A1 drives to hoop. As she swooped a shot B1 makes contact on A1's wrist. The ball enters the basket from below bounces off the backboard and falls back through the hoop.

In one of those "amnesiatic" moments, I could not recall the diminutive last line of the rule 9-4-4 which has a heading of "Travel, Kick, Fist", I awarded the basket and one FT.

Correct ruling: Ball becomes dead when the violation occurred (entered basket from below). A1 shoots two (as a result of B1 foul)

Johnny Ringo Fri Aug 14, 2009 07:26am

Does the ball have to clear the cylinder from below in order for this to be called a violation?

gslefeb Fri Aug 14, 2009 08:08am

To me the phrase "passes through" would indicate the entire ball would need to be above the rim.

Adam Fri Aug 14, 2009 02:39pm

The ball can never go above the cylinder; by definition. :)

Johnny Ringo Fri Aug 14, 2009 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 620467)
The ball can never go above the cylinder; by definition. :)

Explain, please!

AKOFL Fri Aug 14, 2009 04:11pm

The rim is at 10 feet, The cylinder contiues up up up.

Nevadaref Fri Aug 14, 2009 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gslefeb (Post 620422)
To me the phrase "passes through" would indicate the entire ball would need to be above the rim.

That is correct. According to the pictures provided in the OP, A is a violation while B is not.

The only debate is whether the ball must also come completely free of the net. Those who say yes argue that the net is part of the basket.
Those who say no point out that the definition of the basket states that the net is suspended below the ring, not pushed up into it and above the level of the ring.

1-10-1 . . . Each basket shall consist of a single metal ring, 18 inches in inside
diameter, its flange and braces, and a white-cord 12-mesh net, 15 to 18 inches in
length, suspended from beneath the ring.

Adam Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 620494)
Explain, please!

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 620496)
The rim is at 10 feet, The cylinder contiues up up up.

In math, a cylinder continues indefinitely.
In basketball, it basically extends to the ceiling. On an outdoor court, it would extend indefinitely upwards.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1