The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Maybe we could call two technicals, but would we? And if we did call two technicals, would the rules back us up? Citations please.
In some cases, we could...

05-06 Interps...

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 05:26pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Clarification ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Billy, I disagree with this. I don't see what rule basis you have for calling it if you didn't actually see A6 participating. The rule is very clear that it must be discovered while being violated in order to be penalized. There's no wiggle room. Especially, in your scenario, where the official doesn't notice it until he sees A6 walking off the court. You do not know positively how he got on the court nor how long he's been there. It's too late.
Good point. Let me clarify. What I'm trying to say is that this infraction may be called during live ball activity, or during dead ball activity, as long as the officials are sure that six players participated. The officials don't have to know how he got on the court, or how long he participated, as long as they are certain that he participated. Once the ball becomes live with five participants, it's too late to penalize. How's that?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 05:38pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
I Hate These Situations ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
In some cases, we could: 05-06 Interps: SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)
Camron Rust: Nice research. It's now backed up by the interpretation, we can give two technical fouls for basically one act.

But can we go back to the original situation of a sixth player coming off the bench to participate, without reporting, and being beckoned. Are we going to call one, or two technicals? 10.2.2 does say a technical foul (singular) is charged, not technical fouls (plural) are charged. To further complicate the casebook play, it doesn't say whom the technical foul is charged to, a team technical foul for six players participating, or a substitute technical foul for entering the court without being beckoned. What do you think?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 05:38pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Good point. Let me clarify. What I'm trying to say is that this infraction may be called during live ball activity, or during dead ball activity, as long as the officials are sure that six players participated. The officials don't have to know how he got on the court, or how long he participated, as long as they are certain that he participated. Once the ball becomes live with five participants, it's too late to penalize. How's that?
I'll have to think about that, but the rule says "discovered while being violated," so I have to think that unless you actually see the participation, you cannot penalize.

Now, that's not to say I wouldn't call this if, just after a violation whistle by my partner, I count and see 6 standing on the floor and know for a fact that no one came on after his whistle.

And, while common sense would dictate that there are time constraints on how long you can hold off on penalizing, consider the following scenario:

1. A has 6 players during live play.
2. U1 whistles an OOB violation against the defense just as U2 realizes the 6th player is playing.
3. A6 sits down immediately.
4. U1 puts the ball in play.
5. U2 gets his head out of his a$$ and blows his whistle to get that 6 player T.

Common sense says one thing, but what rule says it's too late?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 05:40pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Camron Rust: Nice research. It's now backed up by the interpretation, we can give two technical fouls for basically one act.

But can we go back to the original situation of a sixth player coming off the bench to participate, without reporting, and being beckoned. Are we going to call one, or two technicals? 10.2.2 does say a technical foul (singular) is charged, not technical fouls (plural) are charged. To further complicate the casebook play, it doesn't say whom the technical foul is charged to, a team technical foul for six players participating, or a substitute technical foul for entering the court without being beckoned. What do you think?
In normal 6 player situations, there's no way to determine which player illegally subbed, and usually that's the case. Normally, the sub was done properly, but one of the players supposed to come out didn't realize it.

If you see the illegal sub, get that player with a T. If you don't, it's a team T.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 05:48pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Is An Interpretation Good Enough ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
1. A has 6 players during live play.
2. U1 whistles an OOB violation against the defense just as U2 realizes the 6th player is playing.
3. A6 sits down immediately.
4. U1 puts the ball in play.
5. U2 gets his head out of his a$$ and blows his whistle to get that 6 player T.
Common sense says one thing, but what rule says it's too late?
No rule that know of, just an interpretation: 10.2.2 SITUATION: During a live ball and with the clock running, substitute A6 enters the court. RULING: A technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 05:50pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
An Alternate Universe ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If you see the illegal sub, get that player with a T. If you don't, it's a team T.
Sounds good. Makes sense. Rational. Well thought out. Not very complicated. Are we posting on the Official Forum?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 07:04pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
No rule that know of, just an interpretation: 10.2.2 SITUATION: During a live ball and with the clock running, substitute A6 enters the court. RULING: A technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.
I do remember reading this once before! Now I see where you were coming from, but it only pertains to that sitch. I still think it's useless. If, for some reason we don't count our players & make eye contact prior to the ball becoming live, if 6 are still participating, we hit 'em live while being observed.
What was the purpose of adding that one with so many others unsolved mysteries...

Honestly, I believe the sound official/crew would get that when the 6th player steps on to participate.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 07:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
No rule that know of, just an interpretation: 10.2.2 SITUATION: During a live ball and with the clock running, substitute A6 enters the court. RULING: A technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.
that's for a substitution T, not for a 6 player T. Different rules, Billy.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 09:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Camron Rust: Nice research. It's now backed up by the interpretation, we can give two technical fouls for basically one act.
We have a interp that allows us to do that, yes. However, if you look at the situation in the interp, the only way to make it "right" or "fair" is to give more than one T. I wouldn't consider this interp as license to hand out multiple T's for the same offense unless the situation was as extreme as the one in the interp. (Unless the little punk really ticked me off )

Just my $0.02
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
We have a interp that allows us to do that, yes. However, if you look at the situation in the interp, the only way to make it "right" or "fair" is to give more than one T. I wouldn't consider this interp as license to hand out multiple T's for the same offense unless the situation was as extreme as the one in the interp. (Unless the little punk really ticked me off )

Just my $0.02
Agreed.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 30, 2009, 06:21am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Administrative Technical Fouls Time Limits ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
10.2.2 SITUATION: During a live ball and with the clock running, substitute A6 enters the court. RULING: A technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.

10.1.6 SITUATION: With Team A leading 51 to 50, a held ball is called. A6 properly reports and enters the game. Time is then called by Team A. The clock shows two seconds remaining in the game. After play is resumed by a throw-in, the officials: (a) recognize that A has six players competing, but cannot get the clock stopped; or (b) do not notice Team A has six players on the court. Following the throw-in, time expires. Team B now reports to the officials that Team A had six players on the court. RULING: In (a), since one of the officials had knowledge that Team A had six players participating simultaneously and this was detected prior to time expiring, a technical foul is assessed against Team A. In (b), since it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after time had expired, it is too late to assess any penalty.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
That's (10.2.2) for a substitution T, not for a 6 player T. Different rules.
So if during the intermission between the third and fourth period, the scorekeeper tells the officials that six players participated during the third period, several live balls, dead balls ago, then it's not too late to penalize?

Six players, player changing numbers, and participating after disqualification, are all penalized if discovered while being violated. Is the time limit the same for all three, or does the, "charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball", apply to all three?

What is the time limit for each of these three? I thought I had these administrative technical foul time limits figured out. Obviously not. Can we explore this further.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 30, 2009, 11:48am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So if during the intermission between the third and fourth period, the scorekeeper tells the officials that six players participated during the third period, several live balls, dead balls ago, then it's not too late to penalize?

Six players, player changing numbers, and participating after disqualification, are all penalized if discovered while being violated. Is the time limit the same for all three, or does the, "charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball", apply to all three?

What is the time limit for each of these three? I thought I had these administrative technical foul time limits figured out. Obviously not. Can we explore this further.
Billy, there's no time limit for penalty, but for discovery. And no, if the timer tells me 6 players were playing three live balls ago, I don't count that as being discovered in time. I know the timer is part of the officiating crew, but not on this one.

If I don't see it, it didn't happen.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 30, 2009, 07:05pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
If Snaqwells Doesn't See It, It Didn't Happen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If I don't see it, it didn't happen.
Snaqwells: Thanks for your response. So let me see if I've got this straight. Team A, unbeknown to the officials, has six players participating during a live ball. A whistle sounds for a foul, violation, inadvertent whistle, time out, or intermission, making the ball dead, and at that time one of the officials realizes that there are six Team A players on the court during the dead ball. At that time, is it to late to discover and penalize?

Also, If Snaqwells isn't in the forest, and a tree falls ... Oh, never mind.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 30, 2009, 10:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Snaqwells: Thanks for your response. So let me see if I've got this straight. Team A, unbeknown to the officials, has six players participating during a live ball. A whistle sounds for a foul, violation, inadvertent whistle, time out, or intermission, making the ball dead, and at that time one of the officials realizes that there are six Team A players on the court during the dead ball. At that time, is it to late to discover and penalize?

Also, If Snaqwells isn't in the forest, and a tree falls ... Oh, never mind.
I will say it this way. If I count 6 immediately after the whistle and absolutely know they did not come on the court after the whistle, I might call the T. But I'd have to be 115% positive.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Social Events SRW Softball 10 Wed Jun 11, 2008 06:06pm
Put These Events In Proper Sequence FallCaller Wrestling 2 Mon Dec 22, 2003 09:43am
NEW - 2003 NFHS Football Rule Changes (as written by the NFHS Rules Committee) KWH Football 27 Tue Jan 21, 2003 11:30am
Events from AFA 18U Natioinals whiskers_ump Softball 0 Mon Aug 05, 2002 09:38pm
Today's tragic events STEVED21 General / Off-Topic 1 Tue Sep 11, 2001 10:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1