View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 05:38pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
I Hate These Situations ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
In some cases, we could: 05-06 Interps: SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)
Camron Rust: Nice research. It's now backed up by the interpretation, we can give two technical fouls for basically one act.

But can we go back to the original situation of a sixth player coming off the bench to participate, without reporting, and being beckoned. Are we going to call one, or two technicals? 10.2.2 does say a technical foul (singular) is charged, not technical fouls (plural) are charged. To further complicate the casebook play, it doesn't say whom the technical foul is charged to, a team technical foul for six players participating, or a substitute technical foul for entering the court without being beckoned. What do you think?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote