![]() |
|
|
|||
Camron, I was going to do the line-by-line answer, but thought I would save a little time. Nowhere in any of your replies do you reference 4-36. That is the heart of the issue. You seem to be implying this situation isn't covered anywhere in the rules, and thus are extrapolating a "common sense" answer based on other rules. Unfortunately, 4-36 covers it exactly, and there's no gray area involved. Any other ruling would go directly against 4-36.
And, btw, your case certainly does involve a correctable error. The 2nd FT was awarded when the official mistakenly said, "2 shots". Your statement about the FT having to be taken is incorrect based on 8-1-1. Only one player knew the correct amount, hence the confusion on the rebound. The case play explains how to handle that confusion.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) Last edited by M&M Guy; Tue Sep 15, 2009 at 02:36pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
And, no, 8.6.1 is not a correctabe error. It is an officials mistake. We've been through that before. If it was a CE situation, it would have been listed in a different section. Plus, the CE rule says that the play should be "resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error," (2-10-6)...which is with team B having possession. Yet, 8.6.1 says to go to the AP arrow...contrary to what the CE rule says.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Sep 15, 2009 at 03:43pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Which, unfortunately for you, proves my point that 4-36 doesn't apply in your case and does in the original post. ![]()
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) Last edited by M&M Guy; Tue Sep 15, 2009 at 04:16pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
I've provided a case (8.6.1) that says how to fix official's errors not by 4-36 nor CE rules....but by doing something different than either specify. If 8.6.1 is a valid case, then what makes it so? If it is valid, why doesn't it's principle apply when one team is clearly disadvantaged by the official's error?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Tough Situation #1 | pauli | Basketball | 5 | Fri Jun 23, 2006 06:45am |
Tough Situation #1 | pauli | Basketball | 2 | Thu Jun 22, 2006 07:45pm |
Tough Situation (Injured player) | All_Heart | Basketball | 2 | Wed Jan 11, 2006 09:05am |
Situation with partner | SMEngmann | Basketball | 19 | Fri Dec 19, 2003 10:13am |
Tough call at a tough time in a tough game... | dhodges007 | Basketball | 18 | Wed Aug 01, 2001 11:44am |