The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 08:07am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I agree with this.

In my second year, I was working a JV game. A1 went up for a shot, B1 get his hand on the ball, and A1 came down with it. Tweet! "Travel!" Damn, I knew it was wrong instantly.

If you knew instantly, why not change the call? Some may say once the signal is made it is too late, but as you describe the play I say making a quick change is certainly more acceptable than letting a call stand that you and everybody else know is wrong.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If you knew instantly, why not change the call? Some may say once the signal is made it is too late, but as you describe the play I say making a quick change is certainly more acceptable than letting a call stand that you and everybody else know is wrong.
Is this called a teachable moment? I am absolutely certain that the mbryon of today would do such.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 10:03am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
Is this called a teachable moment? I am absolutely certain that the mbryon of today would do such.
I would assume so.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 10:02am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If you knew instantly, why not change the call? Some may say once the signal is made it is too late, but as you describe the play I say making a quick change is certainly more acceptable than letting a call stand that you and everybody else know is wrong.
No one here would say the initial signal makes it too late, JAR. This is not the blarge discussion, which is the only time a preliminary signal is binding. Strawmen do burn rather quickly, though, don't they?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 02:12pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No one here would say the initial signal makes it too late, JAR. This is not the blarge discussion, which is the only time a preliminary signal is binding. Strawmen do burn rather quickly, though, don't they?

This, as always, is debatable.


Subtlety is often wasted on me. I don't really know what this means.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 02:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
This, as always, is debatable.
Only by you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Subtlety is often wasted on me. I don't really know what this means.
I apologize, as I was being a bit snippy. My point was, no one here has ever said that prelim signals can't be changed (except in the case of the blarge).

Essentially, you built a strawman argument and burned it down quickly.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 02:42pm
Official Fiveum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eurasia - no, Myasia
Posts: 302
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
..... prelim signals can't be changed (except in the case of the blarge).
Where in the NF Officials Manual does it say this? I realize it would be bad to do so, but I'm not sure you can state "can't" as an absolute without any exception pertaining to this.
__________________
I don't know what "signature" means.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 02:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Refner View Post
Where in the NF Officials Manual does it say this? I realize it would be bad to do so, but I'm not sure you can state "can't" as an absolute without any exception pertaining to this.
Case book, my friend, and it's very specific. One official signals a charge, the other signals a block (thus it's a blarge). By rule (case), you must go with a double foul.

If someone doesn't do it first, I'll find the case play when I get home tonight.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 02:50pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Case book, my friend, and it's very specific. One official signals a charge, the other signals a block (thus it's a blarge). By rule (case), you must go with a double foul.

If someone doesn't do it first, I'll find the case play when I get home tonight.
4.19.8 C But it doesn't say signals, it says calls.

The two terms are not interchangeable if you ask me, which no one ever does.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Case book, my friend, and it's very specific. One official signals a charge, the other signals a block (thus it's a blarge). By rule (case), you must go with a double foul.

If someone doesn't do it first, I'll find the case play when I get home tonight.
Now, just to be the devils advocote here...

We all know that is possible for an official to come up with a signal that is not what they intended....visually indicates a charge while stating that is a block or vice versa. It doesn't happen often but it does happen and it is usually on a bang-bang play....not unlike the situations that lead to a blarge.

What if one official signals and states that he has a block while the other official signals a charge but yells out block (making a signal and statement that contradict)?

In the individual case, the official just eats a little crow and makes one call. Now, when it is complicated by a "blarge", does the official get to correct himself, knowing that he really meant to call what his parter was also calling and just simply came up with the wrong signal (imagine a foul that could not be mistaken but the offical just has a misfire in his motor control...defender flying into the side of the shooter knocking the shooter into the 3rd row).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Jul 30, 2009 at 06:25pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I made a mistake Reffing Rev. Basketball 24 Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:01am
Coach made me laugh last night... Ref_in_Alberta Basketball 6 Wed Feb 04, 2009 03:46pm
Made a new coach friend AKOFL Basketball 11 Thu Jan 29, 2009 04:04am
The most stupid comment made from a fan or coach John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 36 Thu Feb 28, 2002 12:08pm
Admitting a Mistake PeteBooth Baseball 2 Mon Feb 26, 2001 04:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1