The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 28, 2009, 11:40pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
The only time you should admit a mistake is when the mistake is obvious or a clear rules violation. If it is simply a judgment call and it was close, you should not have to admit a mistake. If you are constantly admitting to mistakes, then something has to change.

It is hard to tell in this situation if a T was warranted. It would really depend on who you are talking and how they are talking to you. I can see how this could lead to a T, but it is not automatic by any means. Most coaches should realize you messed up and move on. If they do not, then you have to take care of business or walk away. Then that coach would never get my ear again if they cannot be professional.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 07:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
I've found a little trick over the years of officiating. If the coach is upset with the call, you know you've blew it, and it's not a good time to admit to that mistake directly...Take a round about approach.

Back up to the coach (as he is, I'm sure "talking" with you) and ask him, "Coach/Bill/etc..., what did you see on that play?" You've put him in the position to vent and it probably seems to him that he is getting somewhere. "I saw something a little different; however, you may be right. I'll work the angles better to see it next time."

I've always received position feedback from coaches. Never has a coach exploded with the situation and everyone tends to end up "happy"

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 07:23am
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
"I saw something a little different; however, you may be right. I'll work the angles better to see it next time."
-Josh
What if you had a good angle and saw the play correctly? If you know you missed a call, what is wrong with cutting to the chase and saying so?

I don't like "I'll work the angles better to see it next time" just like I don't like a pregame saying something like "We are going to work hard for you."

Just my opinion.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
I've found a little trick over the years of officiating. If the coach is upset with the call, you know you've blew it, and it's not a good time to admit to that mistake directly...Take a round about approach.

Back up to the coach (as he is, I'm sure "talking" with you) and ask him, "Coach/Bill/etc..., what did you see on that play?" You've put him in the position to vent and it probably seems to him that he is getting somewhere. "I saw something a little different; however, you may be right. I'll work the angles better to see it next time."

I've always received position feedback from coaches. Never has a coach exploded with the situation and everyone tends to end up "happy"

-Josh
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomegun View Post
What if you had a good angle and saw the play correctly? If you know you missed a call, what is wrong with cutting to the chase and saying so?

I don't like "I'll work the angles better to see it next time" just like I don't like a pregame saying something like "We are going to work hard for you."

Just my opinion.
tomegun-

We all know there are times you can admit mistakes and times you can't. If I blew a call and I believe the coach is going to react favorably to that admission, then you're darn right I'll say, "Coach, I missed that one. I apoligize." But if I'm not on best terms with the coach because he thinks I'm biased or one of my partners, his team is getting stomped, etc...I am going to put him in the situation to explain himself while he vents. As a lot of us know, coaches just like to vent.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 02:54pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
tomegun-

We all know there are times you can admit mistakes and times you can't. If I blew a call and I believe the coach is going to react favorably to that admission, then you're darn right I'll say, "Coach, I missed that one. I apoligize." But if I'm not on best terms with the coach because he thinks I'm biased or one of my partners, his team is getting stomped, etc...I am going to put him in the situation to explain himself while he vents. As a lot of us know, coaches just like to vent.

-Josh
I think, rather "I know", Tomegun was referring to the verbiage "I'll work harder to get a better angle". It implies 1) that you are not already attempting to do so; and 2) what's to say you didn't already have the best angle and you still just missed the play. It's something that should go unsaid as it can open up a Pandora's Box of comments in response from the coach, or in other words, it's too much verbiage to give to the coach.

Short, simple statements work best, IMO. "Maybe I missed that one", "Maybe I didn't get the best look on that play", "I didn't see that play the same way you did".

For outright flub-ups: "Coach, you're right, I blew that call"
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The only time you should admit a mistake is when the mistake is obvious or a clear rules violation. If it is simply a judgment call and it was close, you should not have to admit a mistake.
I agree with this.

In my second year, I was working a JV game. A1 went up for a shot, B1 get his hand on the ball, and A1 came down with it. Tweet! "Travel!" Damn, I knew it was wrong instantly.

The coach wasn't happy, and as I came up the floor on the table side, I heard him shouting "That was a jump ball! That was a jump ball!" I looked at him, tapped my chest to signal "my bad," and said "you're right, coach."

He look flummoxed for a moment, and then said, "uh, thank you." Not a peep for the rest of the night.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 08:07am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I agree with this.

In my second year, I was working a JV game. A1 went up for a shot, B1 get his hand on the ball, and A1 came down with it. Tweet! "Travel!" Damn, I knew it was wrong instantly.

If you knew instantly, why not change the call? Some may say once the signal is made it is too late, but as you describe the play I say making a quick change is certainly more acceptable than letting a call stand that you and everybody else know is wrong.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If you knew instantly, why not change the call? Some may say once the signal is made it is too late, but as you describe the play I say making a quick change is certainly more acceptable than letting a call stand that you and everybody else know is wrong.
Is this called a teachable moment? I am absolutely certain that the mbryon of today would do such.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 10:03am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
Is this called a teachable moment? I am absolutely certain that the mbryon of today would do such.
I would assume so.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 10:02am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If you knew instantly, why not change the call? Some may say once the signal is made it is too late, but as you describe the play I say making a quick change is certainly more acceptable than letting a call stand that you and everybody else know is wrong.
No one here would say the initial signal makes it too late, JAR. This is not the blarge discussion, which is the only time a preliminary signal is binding. Strawmen do burn rather quickly, though, don't they?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 02:12pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No one here would say the initial signal makes it too late, JAR. This is not the blarge discussion, which is the only time a preliminary signal is binding. Strawmen do burn rather quickly, though, don't they?

This, as always, is debatable.


Subtlety is often wasted on me. I don't really know what this means.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 02:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
This, as always, is debatable.
Only by you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Subtlety is often wasted on me. I don't really know what this means.
I apologize, as I was being a bit snippy. My point was, no one here has ever said that prelim signals can't be changed (except in the case of the blarge).

Essentially, you built a strawman argument and burned it down quickly.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 30, 2009, 02:42pm
Official Fiveum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eurasia - no, Myasia
Posts: 302
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
..... prelim signals can't be changed (except in the case of the blarge).
Where in the NF Officials Manual does it say this? I realize it would be bad to do so, but I'm not sure you can state "can't" as an absolute without any exception pertaining to this.
__________________
I don't know what "signature" means.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I made a mistake Reffing Rev. Basketball 24 Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:01am
Coach made me laugh last night... Ref_in_Alberta Basketball 6 Wed Feb 04, 2009 03:46pm
Made a new coach friend AKOFL Basketball 11 Thu Jan 29, 2009 04:04am
The most stupid comment made from a fan or coach John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 36 Thu Feb 28, 2002 12:08pm
Admitting a Mistake PeteBooth Baseball 2 Mon Feb 26, 2001 04:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1