![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Yes, if the ball hits the floor first (and the ball is released before the pivot foot is lifted, ...)
|
|
|||
|
Let's Go To The Casebook ...
NFHS 4.44.3 SITUATION D: A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it. RULING: Traveling violation since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is illegal. (9-4)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
OK, what about dribbling bouncing the ball off the back of a teammate to get it around a defender chasing the ball and continuing the dribble?
As in: A1 secures defensive rebound midway from lane to sideline. Guarded by B1 who is along the sideline. Meanwhile, A2 has his back to play as he screens B2 from attacking A1. To get ahead of B1, A1 bounces ball at an angle off the back of A2, recovers it several feet ahead of B1 and picks up dribble going down court? Has dribble ended when the ball is bounced off A2? Iit wasn't a try for goal or touch by an opponent, as per 9-5; can it be called a pass even though it was not a throw to another player, as 4-31? Is it analogous to bouncing the ball off the backboard to yourself when it is not, in the judgment of the official, a try for goal? Violation? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| saving the ball by throwing it at the ref | mutantducky | Basketball | 38 | Fri Mar 27, 2009 11:45am |
| Throwing the ball off of a player - T? | cshs81 | Basketball | 20 | Mon Jan 14, 2008 08:37pm |
| dribble start with two hands | zooey1023 | Basketball | 12 | Mon Sep 25, 2006 05:16pm |
| Illegal start of a dribble? | RefLarry | Basketball | 20 | Thu Oct 20, 2005 01:57pm |
| throwing bat at ball | malasto | Baseball | 13 | Fri Oct 01, 2004 02:36pm |