The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 09:54am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
I am sorry there has been so much discussion in regards to this I do not follow. I thought all was covered. The 6 foot distance applies only to Closely guarded (4.23) which requires LGP at per Sit 9.10.1.c
So in th OP it was stated
No where does it explicitly state that LGP is required to start closely guarded. I have to ask, would you start counting in Camron's play?:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Image B1 who takes a position between A1 (dribbler) and the basket (guarding). However, B1 never faces A1 (no LGP). A1 is furiously attempting to drive to the basket but B1 constantly moves to cut off A1's path while never facing A1. There is never any contact so LGP is not relevant. However, B1 continuously maintains a position that is 2'-4' from A1.

B1 has satisfied the requirements for a count. However, B1 has not satisfied the requirements for LGP and is not protected from being guilty of a foul if B1 is moving at the time of contact...even if B1 is moving laterally.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No where does it explicitly state that LGP is required to start closely guarded. I have to ask, would you start counting in Camron's play?:
As I said before NO count in Camron situation since they did not face each other. Sitiation 9.10.1C quite clearly says when a count has to be started. The "closely guarded" count rule is in Rule 9 not rule 4.10.

As you know the interpretations and rulings for all play situations have been approved by the rules committee and are "OFFICIAL"

Therefore please read situation 9.10.1c when a count should start and explain to me how camrons example fits is.

becasue something is obvious to some, it might not be in the rule book

Now to anwer the direction question

A1 defender is facing his/her FC and has both feet on court standing there. B1 comes along and faces A1 torso (LGP). B1 moves 45 % from A1 into the 6 foot radius. Count starts. A1 runs straight. B1 passes header and shoulder of A1. Count stops so direction ha NO bearing for a count.

now for Cameron

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Nice try, but no cigar. All this says is that LGP within 6' is sufficient for a CG count. It doesn't say it is necessary.

Go check out 9.10.1D. It's ruling is a CG violation when a player is within 6' and says nor implies nothing about LGP.

So again, LGP is not necessary for CG.....but is usually present and is sufficient for a CG count if it is within 6.

Also note that 9.10.1C is for a stationary player. It implies nothing about a moving/dribbling player...where the definition of guarding requires being in the "path" to be guarding. 9.10.1C is merely present to cover the hole with the definition of guarding and its requirement of being in the "path" (which doesn't exist for a stationary player).

Please read rule 9.10.1b The situation you site (9.10.1D) is specific for that rule We are discussing 9.10.1A... Good try
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 11:48am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Like Camron says, it says what is sufficient, but not what is required. The difference is key.

Dragging the pivot foot is sufficient for a travel call, but it is not required.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Like Camron says, it says what is sufficient, but not what is required. The difference is key.

Dragging the pivot foot is sufficient for a travel call, but it is not required.
but this is an other discussion. for a new thread.
Since I could ask what about momentum... joking.... an other thread perhaps
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 12:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
but this is an other discussion. for a new thread.
Since I could ask what about momentum... joking.... an other thread perhaps
It's analogy to illustrate the difference between what is sufficient and what is required.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
It's analogy to illustrate the difference between what is sufficient and what is required.
Ok let me ask you this then, when player A1 jumps in the air and catches the ball in the air and lands on one foot (the other has not touched the floor), has a pivot foot been established?

Unfortunately sufficiency is not always clear.
The rules are. if we keep them simple without our interpretation

This is really a subject for an other thread

Last edited by ILMalti; Thu Jul 02, 2009 at 12:29pm.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 02:04pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
Ok let me ask you this then, when player A1 jumps in the air and catches the ball in the air and lands on one foot (the other has not touched the floor), has a pivot foot been established?

Unfortunately sufficiency is not always clear.
The rules are. if we keep them simple without our interpretation

This is really a subject for an other thread
It's not a subject for another thread, because it's clearly to demonstrate the logic of differentiating between what is sufficient and what is required.

The answer to your first question is "maybe." If the player stops moving upon that landing, then yes, the pivot has been established. If he jumps off that foot and lands on both feet simultaneously, then neither foot is the pivot.

My point was a player may be called for traveling by merely dragging his pivot foot (that is sufficient), but he may also be called for traveling even when his pivot foot doesn't drag (such as the example of when there is no pivot foot established) and he breaks other rules of movement.

To claim, "The rules are. if we keep them simple without our interpretation" while at the same time making an inference from case plays is pretty inconsistent. You're making an interpretation.

The case plays are supplements to the rules, not rules themselves. The fact remains that neither the rules nor the case plays state LGP is "required" for CG to be in play. You're infering it based on a case play that says CG should be started since LGP was established. There is no case play or rule that says CG should not be started because LGP wasn't established.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
As I said before NO count in Camron situation since they did not face each other. Sitiation 9.10.1C quite clearly says when a count has to be started. The "closely guarded" count rule is in Rule 9 not rule 4.10.

As you know the interpretations and rulings for all play situations have been approved by the rules committee and are "OFFICIAL"

Therefore please read situation 9.10.1c when a count should start and explain to me how camrons example fits is.
It doesn't....but it doesn't need to. As I said, this case mentions what is sufficient to get a count but it doesn't say that it is necessary. Two very different things.

.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post

now for Cameron

Please read rule 9.10.1b The situation you site (9.10.1D) is specific for that rule We are discussing 9.10.1A... Good try
Note that 9.10.1B says "In the situation outlined..." That expressly means the comments that follow are targeted at that very situation and are not intended to establish a general requirement.

9.1.1D is mentioned to disprove the claim that LGP is required for a CG count. And it does just that.

We're talking about the definition of CG vs. LGP. You've yet to cite one rule/case that says says CG requires LGP...only that LGP within 6' satisfies the requirement for CG.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
It doesn't....but it doesn't need to. As I said, this case mentions what is sufficient to get a count but it doesn't say that it is necessary. Two very different things.

.....


Oh quite contrar (did I spell it right?) The situation is very very specific about the necessity of placing both feet on the playing court and facing the oppponenet before a count is started.

for starters the situation 9.10.1c is under the heading FrontCourt Closely-guarded Action
Secondly the wording is specific to say ".. As soon as B1 has assumed a guarding position" and now the situation emphasis what this is: "both feet on the court, facing the opponent, no other specific requirements"
Tell me what situation does 9.10.1c not cover as described. Even the one given in the thread is covered.

now for part 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
9.1.1D is mentioned to disprove the claim that LGP is required for a CG count. And it does just that.

We're talking about the definition of CG vs. LGP. You've yet to cite one rule/case that says says CG requires LGP...only that LGP within 6' satisfies the requirement for CG.
Sitaution 9.10.1d is under the sub title "Screening teemmates" and is sitautaion for rule 9.10.1B we cannot mix. this is a very different discussion then a closely guarded count or so i think
I have sited the situation numerous times and explained why CG COUNT requires LGP.

This discussion is : When does a CG 5 second count start? ie in reality rule 9.10.1A

OR

is this a discussion on what is CG (ie rule 4.10) but without a count?

Last edited by ILMalti; Thu Jul 02, 2009 at 12:31pm.
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
Oh quite contrar (did I spell it right?) The situation is very very specific about the necessity of placing both feet on the playing court and facing the oppponenet before a count is started.

for starters the situation 9.10.1c is under the heading FrontCourt Closely-guarded Action
Secondly the wording is specific to say ".. As soon as B1 has assumed a guarding position" and now the situation emphasis what this is: "both feet on the court, facing the opponent, no other specific requirements"
Tell me what situation does 9.10.1c not cover as described. Even the one given in the thread is covered.
It is very specific...."for the situation oulined". The inclusion of those very words tell you that they don't intend for that to be the general rule but are describing that one play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
now for part 2


Sitaution 9.10.1d is under the sub title "Screening teemmates" and is sitautaion for rule 9.10.1B we cannot mix. this is a very different discussion then a closely guarded count or so i think
I have sited the situation numerous times and explained why CG COUNT requires LGP.

This discussion is : When does a CG 5 second count start? ie in reality rule 9.10.1A
You're not quoting rules....you're quoting cases that give examples.

All of 9.10 is about CG, not just a-c.

"D" is precisely relevant in that it provides a counter example to your claim that LGP is required for CG. The only way to come to the right conclusion is to mix the rules/cases. It doesn't matter that it mentions "Screening Teammates". It is giving you a case (screening teammates) when a CG count can happen even if there is no LGP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
OR

is this a discussion on what is CG (ie rule 4.10) but without a count?
The fundamentail question that is backed up by both rules and cases is that while LGP (being a strict subset of the more general "guarding") @ < 6' is suffienct to have a count it is also possilble to get a count without LGP merely by being within 6' in a guarding position...even if it is not LGP.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Jul 02, 2009 at 01:16pm.
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Cameron,

I am quoting situations and as you should know are considerd to be "official supplement" Show me where I mis quoted and I shall step back. So situations ARE VALID to discuss and understand the rules. They are blessed by the appropiate BB bodies. and they are as official as the rules. Can we at last agree on this before I continue. It would be a pointless discussion other wise.
If you have access to the IAABO hand book for example I refer you to the forward in the case book. If you have publications by the NFHS you should also find this statement ( stating that situations are official and supplement the rules)

Until you can agree that situations are official supplemets then it would be pointless to continue.

Were are the official interpretors when you need them

You must at least concede that Situation 9.10.1.D is under the official heading of "screening teammates" (with 9.10.3's situation odd they bundled them together ?) and that 9.10.1.a-c are under the official heading of "Front court closely guarded Action" and one could correctly state that the authors thought that the sitautions describe different scenarions ?

9.10.1D has no bearance to our discusion based on CG and when a count should start.

Until we agree on Rules and situations having the same weight for understanding and applying the rules ... all this is pointless.

thank you
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
Cameron,

I am quoting situations and as you should know are considered to be "official supplement" Show me where I mis quoted and I shall step back. So situations ARE VALID to discuss and understand the rules. They are blessed by the appropriate BB bodies. and they are as official as the rules. Can we at last agree on this before I continue. It would be a pointless discussion other wise.

If you have access to the IAABO hand book for example I refer you to the forward in the case book. If you have publications by the NFHS you should also find this statement ( stating that situations are official and supplement the rules)

Until you can agree that situations are official supplements then it would be pointless to continue.
Absolutely agree....but you have to use them all, not just the ones that serve your argument. It doesn't matter how official they are if you apply them incorrectly or incompletely.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
Were are the official interpretors when you need them

You must at least concede that Situation 9.10.1.D is under the official heading of "screening teammates" (with 9.10.3's situation odd they bundled them together ?) and that 9.10.1.a-c are under the official heading of "Front court closely guarded Action" and one could correctly state that the authors thought that the situations describe different scenarios ?

9.10.1D has no bearance to our discussion based on CG and when a count should start.

Until we agree on Rules and situations having the same weight for understanding and applying the rules ... all this is pointless.

thank you
You make the claim that LGP is a necessity for a CG count. If there is any case, anywhere, in any "official" source that says otherwise, your claim is proven false.

9.10.1D does exactly that. It defines a time when a CG count can/should start....all without ever mentioning anything related to having LGP.

All of 9.10, regardless of the casebook sub-categorizations are about closely guarded situations. That is what rule 9-10 is about...nothing else. Each case lists an example that a CG count can apply...each case is not restricting other situations. Having LGP is one way to get a count started but it is not the only way...as demonstrated by "D".

Rules are "broad" by their very nature. Cases, on the other hand, are typically "narrow", applying to the situation mentioned an ones similar to it. Cases rarely establish a broad meaning, but show examples of where the rules apply.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
ILMalti,

Your argument seems to hinge on a single case. Yes, cases are official and have the force of rule to them. But they are not the rules; they are some specific examples of how to apply the rules. It is usually a mistake to try to derive the actual rule from a single case. So let's look at closely guarding in more depth, starting with the actual rules.

NFHS 4-10 - A closely guarded situation occurs when a player in control of the ball in his/her team’s frontcourt, is continuously guarded by any opponent who is within six feet of the player who is holding or dribbling the ball. The distance shall be measured from the forward foot/feet of the defender to the forward foot/feet of the ball handler. A closely guarded count shall be terminated when the offensive player in control of the ball gets his/her head and shoulders past the defensive player.

What are the requirements?
  1. A player in control of the ball
  2. In his/her team's front court
  3. Continuously guarded by any opponent
  4. Who is within six feet of the player who is holding or dribbling the ball.

What is up for discussion is what it means to be "guarded". But please note that it says only "guarded". It says nothing about Legal Guarding Position.

What is guarding?

NFHS 4-32-1 - Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. There is no minimum distance required between the guard and opponent, but the maximum is 6 feet when closely guarded....

That is the fundamental definition of guarding. Not LGP, just guarding.

What are the requirements?
  1. Placing the body - The implication here is a location on court (the distinction between a location on the court and how the guard's body is arrayed is central to your case)
  2. In the path - The rule does not define it, but it does require it
  3. Of an offensive opponent - restricts guarding to an activity the defense performs against its opponent
  4. No minimum distance required between the guard and opponent - The guard and opponent could be 96 feet apart
  5. The maximum is 6 feet when closely guarded - Short of making contact, the only distance of significance in guarding is the 6 feet required for a closely guarding.

Those are the requirements for closely guarding. Again, note that there is no mention of LGP. If I am in my opponents path, I am guarding him. If I am within six feet of him, I am closely guarding him. It's that simple.

Now, rule 4 is fundamental to most other rules in the rules book. It is common for a definition to contain multiple facets. Some will relate to one rule and some to a another rule. The guarding definition is that way.

Article 1 defines guarding, and establishes that when done from within six feet it is closely guarding. Articles 2 and 3 build on that and define LGP, how it's obtained, and what additional rights it grants to the guard. Articles 4 and 5 set specific time and distance requirements for guarding moving/stationary opponents with/without the ball. Articles 2-5 build on the definition of guarding, but they don't change it's relationship to closely guarding in any way. Whether you have LGP or not, whether you are guarding a moving or stationary opponent, you are still guarding. And if you are within six feet you are closely guarding.

That understanding is fundamental to understanding the cases. Let's look at your favorite:

9.10.1 SITUATION C: Team A has the ball in its own frontcourt. B1 stands within 6 feet and facing A1 while A1 is holding the ball near the division line. RULING: In five seconds this would be a violation. In the situation outlined, as soon as B1 has assumed a guarding position, both feet on the court, facing the opponent, no other specific requirement is in effect. The amount of movement or the actual body position of the player is irrelevant.

B1 is clearly guarding A1 (but how we know that really muddies the water). That he's within six feet means B1 is also closely guarding A1. That he is standing (implying two feet on the floor) facing A1 clearly bestows the additional status of LGP. Since the opponent has the ball, and is stationary, no time or distance is required. That's a lot of info we're given, and only some of it is relevant.

But why is B1 standing there, facing A1? It has nothing to do with LGP, and a little to do with guarding. The 9.1.x cases address rule 9-1, the closely guarded violation. And this particular case is even narrower than that.

The specific situation being addressed is easily deduced from the ruling. The narration looks right past the basic requirements of guarding and distance to address a single question, "Must the guard do anything else to be closely guarding?" The answer is, no. "No other specific requirement is in effect. The amount of movement or the actual body position of the player is irrelevant."

You see, there exists a widespread (mis)interpretation that the defender must be "actively guarding" or in a "guarding stance" or "guarding posture" or some such nonsense to "earn" a closely guarded count. The classic example has the ball handler standing near the division line, holding the ball. The defender come out within six feet to get a count. But both the ball handler and the guard are just standing there. Some referees will not give the defender a count.

The point of the case is that the defender can just stand there and get a count. All that is required is for the guard to have "assumed a guarding position". This guarding position is a place on the floor in the opponent's path, and within six feet. It is not, as some believe, a particular stance. Not even the "stance" required to attain LGP.

The phrase "both feet on the court, facing the opponent" in the ruling is obviously tripping you up. I can see why. If you're looking to derive the definition of closely guarded, it surely reads like those are requirements. But don't be mislead. This is not a case about the definition of guarding or LGP. It is a case about whether you can just stand there with "both feet on the court, facing the opponent" and get a count.

The answer is yes. You can just stand there with "both feet on the court, facing the opponent" and get a count.

But it's not the only way to get a count.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming

Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Thu Jul 02, 2009 at 03:27pm.
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 06:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
ILMalti,

Your argument seems to hinge on a single case

....

But it's not the only way to get a count.
Forget the $0.04 I mentioned earlier, that was worth far more...maybe even an entire buck.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 06:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules
POINTS OF EMPHASIS
1. Closely guarded. Well-officiated closely-guarded situations provide for better balance between offense and defense. When the closely guarded rules are not followed, there is a significant advantage for the offense. The following four areas are to be emphasized:
A. When to start. A closely guarded situation occurs when a player in control of the ball in his or her team's front court, is guarded by an opponent who is within six feet of that player who is holding or dribbling the ball. It should also be emphasized that the defensive player must obtain a legal guarding position.
A player shall not hold the ball for five seconds or dribble the ball for five seconds while closely guarded in his or her front court
. A player can legally hold the ball while closely guarded for four seconds, dribble the ball for four seconds and hold the ball again for four seconds before violating.
B. When to stop. A closely-guarded count ends when no defensive player is within six feet. The count

http://www.laparks.org/dos/sports/yo...tsofemph05.pdf
More sites are coming
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
closely guarded observer Basketball 26 Sun Jan 08, 2006 02:11am
Closely Guarded stewcall Basketball 3 Fri Oct 29, 2004 09:01am
closely guarded? Troward Basketball 5 Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:29pm
Closely Guarded??? OK Ref Basketball 9 Thu Dec 19, 2002 12:06pm
5 second closely guarded tschriver Basketball 4 Fri Oct 26, 2001 01:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1