View Single Post
  #67 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 02, 2009, 10:04am
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
The rule does not state direction ie on a drive to the basket. The rule states :

A closely guarded count shall be terminated when the offensive player in control of the ball gets his/her head and shoulder past the defensive player." Nothing about direction or PATH
Well, crap, you're right - there goes one of my arguments. Maybe I should just stay out of this. Well, ok, maybe not.

Does this section then provide the basis for not counting in the OP? Since the defender trailed the dribbler, was the dribbler's head and shoulders past the defender, and thus the count ends?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)