![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
I don't think there's a situation that has been discussed here as much as "over and back" violations during a throw-in. How about if we make a comprehensive list that newbies (and others) can study and perhaps carry with them in their bags so they can review them from time to time? Here's a bunch of scenarios - you guys post the answers. In each case, A1 is the thrower-in and is inbounding in team A's frontcourt on the sideline.
a) A2 is standing in backcourt, jumps and catches the ball in the air and then lands with both feet in frontcourt. b) A2 is standing with one foot in frontcourt and one foot in backcourt and catches the inbound pass - he then lifts the frontcourt foot c) A2 is standing in frontcourt, jumps and catches the ball in the air and then lands with both feet in backcourt. d) same as a), except A2 lands with one foot in frontcourt and one foot in backcourt e) same as c), except A2 lands with one foot in frontcourt and one foot in backcourt f) A2 is standing in frontcourt, the ball deflects off him into the backcourt and he retrieves the ball with both feet in backcourt g) while the inbound pass is in the air, Coach A calls you a fu***ing idiot, the ball hits A2 in the head while he is standing in the frontcourt, caroms off and hits Coach A in the crotch, doubling him over and causing him to scream OK - g) was a trick example. We all know the correct answer is to laugh hysterically at Coach A while issuing the flagrant T and hope someone had their video cam on. You can post other examples if you wish. Have fun, guys.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
a) A2 is standing in backcourt, jumps and catches the ball in the air and then lands with both feet in frontcourt.
Legal. b) A2 is standing with one foot in frontcourt and one foot in backcourt and catches the inbound pass - he then lifts the frontcourt foot I think this is legal. c) A2 is standing in frontcourt, jumps and catches the ball in the air and then lands with both feet in backcourt. Legal. d) same as a), except A2 lands with one foot in frontcourt and one foot in backcourt Legal, and what Nevada said. As long as his backcourt foot lands first followed by his frontcourt foot, he's fine. e) same as c), except A2 lands with one foot in frontcourt and one foot in backcourt Legal. f) A2 is standing in frontcourt, the ball deflects off him into the backcourt and he retrieves the ball with both feet in backcourt Legal. No team control is established on a deflection. g) while the inbound pass is in the air, Coach A calls you a fu***ing idiot, the ball hits A2 in the head while he is standing in the frontcourt, caroms off and hits Coach A in the crotch, doubling him over and causing him to scream Get him an ice pack. |
|
|||
Quote:
What are going to penalize him for ... a back and back vilolation? ![]() |
|
|||
Uh-oh...
[QUOTE
f) A2 is standing in frontcourt, the ball deflects off him into the backcourt and he retrieves the ball with both feet in backcourt Legal. No team control is established on a deflection. OK- I'm confusing myself on this now- maybe I need more information. I am assuming that A has team control in the frontcourt. Teammate of A2 passes him the ball, is deflected by B1, hits A2 and caroms into the backcourt where A2 goes to get it. Isn't that last team control-last to touch in frontcourt-first to touch in backcourt = violation? Where am I going astray? Z |
|
|||
Moron Alert!
OK, it seems to me that I actually did not read the OP correctly.
We are talking about an inbounds play, correct? And we all know that there is no team control on an inbounds pass... So, if I have now read the OP correctly, I would agree that A2 retrieving the ball in the backcourt is not a violation. Apparently those of you that are literate already knew this... Z |
|
|||
Quote:
PS I'm glad that you actually went and looked it up to convince yourself instead of just taking my word for it. That kind of diligence will pay off as you will certainly remember it better. |
|
|||
Quote:
From 2003-04 (and others)
The editorial change to move the exceptions into the main articles never intended to change the rule (otherwise they wouldn't have been called an editorial clarification), only to reword it into the mainline and not as exceptions. However, as worded, it actually may appear to have changed the rule unintentionally. I believe the apparent limitation relative to allowing a player to jump only from the frontcourt is really an oversight in the re-wording...a wording that is written to match the common cases rather than an intended limitation that turns, into a violation, a play that is essentally the same but less common and is, physically, far more difficult to end up in . The general principle behind the exceptions/rule remains: that the first player touching the ball and player securing control of the ball which was not in his/her team control is allowed to make a normal landing in the backcourt no matter where the first foot comes down. So, once you look at this logically and understanding what is behind the rule and where it came from...the point of establishing team control, situation D above should not a violation no matter where the player jumps from nor which foot comes down first.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Jun 12, 2009 at 03:53pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Wish list | Mike51 | Basketball | 23 | Wed Dec 19, 2007 11:06am |
Christmas list | Mike51 | Football | 7 | Tue Dec 18, 2007 09:38pm |
Member's list | Skahtboi | General / Off-Topic | 7 | Fri Jun 18, 2004 09:20pm |
ASA 2004 Bat List & Banned List.... | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 12 | Fri Oct 10, 2003 08:33am |