The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 06:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 620
NCAA Rule?

After going out-of-bounds, in high school you need to have one foot (or knee, elbow) back in bounds ... what is the college rule on this? Can you be the first to touch?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 06:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Same rule as in HS.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 06:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,602
The rules regarding inbounds/OOB status are the same at the NCAA and NFHS levels. (Something in and nothing out.)

The only difference lies in when a violation occurs for a player leaving the floor under his own volition. In NFHS play that is an immediate violation, but under NCAA rules it is only illegal if he is the first to touch the ball after returning.

Of course, a player is allowed to leave not due to his own volition (ie due to momentum) and then return and be the first to touch the ball WITHOUT penalty at both levels.




POST #9000

Last edited by Nevadaref; Sat Jun 06, 2009 at 09:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 11:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
POST #9000
Slacker.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 11:34pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
A phrase comes to mind:

quality vs. quantity
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2009, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Slacker.
If we counted all of my deleted posts, I'd be way ahead of you.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Sun Jun 07, 2009 at 12:45am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 07, 2009, 07:11am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Slacker.

Nevada:

Not only are you a slacker, you need to get a life.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 07, 2009, 08:54am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,255
Let's Get An Amen ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
You need to get a life.
Amen.

Unfortunately, this applies to me, as well.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 07, 2009, 10:08am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
A phrase comes to mind:

quality vs. quantity
shut up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If we counted all of my deleted posts, I'd be way ahead of you.
yeah, now that's a good point.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 07, 2009, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 620
What about dribbling? In NFHS or NCAA a player is dribbling and is bumped OOB or momentum carries them OOB are the allowed to return to the floor and continue a dribble they had previously started?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 07, 2009, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
What about dribbling? In NFHS or NCAA a player is dribbling and is bumped OOB or momentum carries them OOB are the allowed to return to the floor and continue a dribble they had previously started?
A dribbler who steps out of bounds has committed an out of bounds violation, even if he/she is not touching the ball when he/she steps out of bounds.

During an interrupted dribble, a player may go out of bounds, return, and continue dribbling.

If a player's being bumped by an opponent causes them to go out of bounds, then there may be a foul depending on positioning of the players.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 07, 2009, 04:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lotto View Post
During an interrupted dribble, a player may go out of bounds, return, and continue dribbling.
Can you give an example?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 09:48am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Can you give an example?
It's all in the definition of an interrupted dribble. If a dribbler momentarily loses immediate control of a dribble, it should probably be considered interrupted. This allows him to step OOB due to momentum (or even a small bump) without committing a violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 06:39pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,255
Interrupted Dribble (NFHS) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
It's all in the definition of an interrupted dribble. If a dribbler momentarily loses immediate control of a dribble, it should probably be considered interrupted. This allows him to step OOB due to momentum without committing a violation.
An interrupted dribble (NFHS) occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble. During an interrupted dribble: Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA rule changes eyezen Basketball 0 Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:40pm
NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test ljudge Football 2 Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am
Rule 10, NCAA Scrapper1 Basketball 10 Mon Dec 17, 2007 02:48pm
New NCAA TO Rule ChuckElias Basketball 17 Mon Oct 23, 2006 01:56pm
NCAA Rule Changes blcump Softball 1 Thu Aug 14, 2003 04:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1