![]() |
|
|||
foul-travel-shot question
a1 drives to the basket and picks up his dribble in going for a layup. B1 fouls a1 by grabbing his arm. a1 shoots and scores but because b1 is holding him, he is unable to release the shot until after his pivot foot has lifted and then been placed on the ground again. What is the correct call and procedure? team a is not in penalty.
I would call holding foul, the shot does not count..... Not sure but I would award a1 two shots and call it a shooting foul. this happened recently in a pick-up game and got me thinking... |
|
|||
Quote:
The travel caused the ball to be dead, so the basket cannot count.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
It begins on the gather (when A1 picks up his dribble and starts his motion for the layup in your example). If he then scores you count the basket and award 1 FT. The fact the pivot returned to ground should not even be a factor here. The foul occurred first. Hope this helps. |
|
|||
Quote:
The pivot foot returning to the floor before the release ends the try. He was not able to get the shot off so the basket doesn't count. A1 receives two FTs for being fouled in the act of shooting, as HoopGuy originally stated. Last edited by bbcof83; Wed May 13, 2009 at 11:45am. Reason: poor writing |
|
|||
Quote:
You are correct in stating it is a shooting foul due to the gather to start the shooting motion. And, the reason a shot counts after a foul is because usually the ball does not become dead until after the try is either successful or unsuccessful (4-41-4). However, the travel violation causes the ball to become dead immediately (9-4 Penalty). Therefore, 2 shots will be awarded, even though the ball eventually went through the basket. Look at it this way - as an extreme example, what if, after A1 was fouled while starting the shooting motion, A1 continued walking (literally 5-6 steps) towards the basket and eventually put it in, would you still count the basket?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Also if he held on that long, you could consider the foul to be intentional. Quote:
WRONG. Two FTs.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Follow on question...
How would you communicate the details of this situation? Everybody saw the foul; everybody saw the ball go in the basket. My bet is most people didn't see the travel because they were not watching the feet. What do you signal at the spot? How would you clarify this for the coaches? How do you respond to the O coach's inevitable, "But the foul caused the travel."?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
one word: irrelevant
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
I know that we have discussed this play before.
I know that we have easily decided that the goal doesn't count due to the travel making the ball dead. What I can't remember is if there was an NFHS case play or interp on this. ![]() BillyMac is going to give me h#ll for that! ![]() |
|
|||
A Memory Like An Elephant ...
Quote:
A1 gets offensive rebound near the basket, goes to shot the ball, and is grabbed on the forearm by B1. I blow my whistle for a foul on B1. A1 doesn't complete the shooting motion, at first due to the foul, but after B1 releases the forearm of A1, A1 brings the ball back down, in kind of a double pump motion, before shooting it again. Before the ball has a chance to go in, I yell, "No shot", because I don't want the basket to count if it goes in, it doesn't, but I do award two shots for A1 being fouled in the act of shooting, that is his first shot motion, not his second shot motion. How far does continuation continue? Was this the correct call? Here's my followup post: I know it's tough to describe a play like this in words. Heck, I was there, and I have trouble replaying it in my mind. 1) I know that the shooter was not airborne. He was a little on the "husky" side, and didn't do much jumping during the game. However, I am interested in how the call would be different if he was airborne? 2) I didn't use the term "pump fake" because that's not what I saw, especially the kind of "pump fake" that would cause many of us to call a three second violation on the shooter despite the exception to the rule. This can best be described as a "double pump". In other words, it looked like, if I had not blown the whistle for the foul, he was going to try to shot "again" after having it blocked the first time. Finished ...
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
Although, I'm sure that there were prior ones as well. |
|
|||
I've found the earlier thread on this from January of 2007.
Foul on Shooter then PC The element of a travel is first mentioned in post #9 by JugglingReferee. http://forum.officiating.com/371163-post9.html |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Foul on shot causes travel. | Robert E. Harrison | Basketball | 52 | Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:01pm |
Foul? Travel? | ChuckElias | Basketball | 20 | Mon Nov 28, 2005 02:51pm |
travel then hard foul | oc | Basketball | 5 | Mon Mar 14, 2005 09:35am |
Question - Foul away from ball after release of the shot | bradfordwilkins | Basketball | 3 | Wed Feb 23, 2005 06:24pm |
Double whistle, foul or travel | davidw | Basketball | 6 | Thu Feb 07, 2002 04:08pm |