The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 19, 2009, 05:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Then I guess the rule book is wrong, since that's were I quoted from.

The violation occurs because the pivot foot was moved outside prescribed limits.
Put it in this way: is there any situation when the official calls a travel just because a player lifts their pivot foot? I can't see any. (And that was the original question.) I quote again from you:
Quote:
Lifting the pivot foot and then starting a dribble is a traveling violation.
Does the violation come from lifting the pivot foot? No: it's a consequence of something done after that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
So if a dribbler ends his dribble while straddling the division line, it's a violation in FEEBLE Rules? That's just stupid.
That's your reading of my message. There's no such rule in FIBA and a player can be straddling the division line without violating. All the rule say is that this player is both in the BC and the FC (and it's cause of problems, in my opinion, but that's not the question). This player can lift the foot in the BC, but not the foot in the FC. There are three cases: (1) the pivot foot has not been established by the rules (stationary player receiving the ball, or who has put both feet simultaneously on the ground); (2) the pivot foot has been established by the rules; (3) no foot can be pivot (jump stop).

In case (2) the foot in the FC can never be pivot, because when the pivot foot is established by the rule the player has ended their dribble; if the pivot foot is in the FC, putting down the other foot in the BC is a violation, because the ball has already FC status.

In all cases the player can lift the foot in the BC, be it the pivot or not; of course, a dribble can no more be started if that foot was pivot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Under NFHS, when dribbling, a player is not in the FC until all three points are in the FC.

Me thinks you have your FC and BC status mixed up.
Is a player a dribbler when they have ended their dribble? I dare say no. If the dribble ends when the player has their right foot in the frontcourt and their left foot in the air, are you sure the three point rule is still in force?

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 19, 2009, 08:22am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Understanding FIBA backcourt rules are not easily done.

And certainly not within one message thread.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does he have a legal pivot foot db Basketball 15 Fri Oct 31, 2008 02:14pm
Non- pivot foot rngrck Baseball 31 Tue Mar 04, 2008 03:37pm
Lifting the foot nhref58 Softball 5 Thu May 29, 2003 12:48pm
pivot foot ROMANO Basketball 5 Thu Jan 16, 2003 01:39am
lifting the pivot foot erikengquist Basketball 13 Wed Nov 13, 2002 03:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1