The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 06, 2009, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 322
Question Clarification on NCAA Player Control rule

Going through my new NCAA books (not new for everyone, just for me... if you recall starting a league soon using NCAA rules).

4-15-1 states that a play shall be in control when holding a live ball or dribbling a live ball while inbounds.

It therefore goes to reason (and is I think backed up by the table in the back w/ rules differences; they are just brief hah)...

Team B is in the bonus. A1 has the ball. If A1 goes for a shot, releases the ball (thus is an airborne shooter) and crashes into B1 who has mainted LGB, etc... the basket 1) goes in 2) does not go in.

I THINK I am reading that in 2, B1 would go shoot the bonus free throw(s). Is that right? Because it can't be a player control?

Then what happens in 1? Does the basket count AND B shoots the bonus? Because 6-6-1 states that a live ball shall not become dead until the try in flight ends.

Help

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 06, 2009, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 187
Yes in Men's. No in women's which is same as NFHS.

Last edited by refguy; Mon Apr 06, 2009 at 03:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 06, 2009, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradfordwilkins View Post

It therefore goes to reason (and is I think backed up by the table in the back w/ rules differences; they are just brief hah)...

Team B is in the bonus. A1 has the ball. If A1 goes for a shot, releases the ball (thus is an airborne shooter) and crashes into B1 who has mainted LGB, etc... the basket 1) goes in 2) does not go in.

I THINK I am reading that in 2, B1 would go shoot the bonus free throw(s). Is that right? Because it can't be a player control?

Then what happens in 1? Does the basket count AND B shoots the bonus? Because 6-6-1 states that a live ball shall not become dead until the try in flight ends.

Help

Thanks

I saw this play down in the KC opening weekend games (possibly one of the Memphis games, but admittedly, 6 games in 2 days, lots of basketball and beverages, I don't remember for sure). The crowd around me was somewhat confused.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Rule Clarification aschramm Basketball 11 Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:19am
NCAA rule clarification... ckrumm24 Basketball 7 Sun Mar 12, 2006 02:59am
Player Control Foul Clarification Smitty Basketball 2 Mon Nov 08, 2004 04:19pm
New NCAA "team control" clarification Mark Padgett Basketball 2 Mon Aug 25, 2003 06:44am
Help!!! What's the difference between a charge and a player control foul in NCAA? gregbrown8 Basketball 31 Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1