The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 26, 2009, 04:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
While watching the NIT game today a player dived on the floor but went out. I thought, hey he could have saved it but what if he threw it against the ref who was standing there? If he did it on accident and the ball stays live then yes play on. But what if it were on purpose? Is using the ref to keep the ball inbounds an automatic violation or even a Tech?
The ball hitting an official is the same as hitting the floor. If the official is standing inbounds, I would consider this the start of a dribble. If the official is standing out of bounds, it would be an out of bounds violation. I don't see why this would be considered a tech at all unless he fired it at the official with malicious intent to do harm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throwing the ball off of a player - T? cshs81 Basketball 20 Mon Jan 14, 2008 08:37pm
saving the ball from out of bounds kevjiang Basketball 8 Fri Apr 08, 2005 01:05pm
saving ball from going out frank andrews Basketball 2 Tue Feb 01, 2005 01:21pm
throwing bat at ball malasto Baseball 13 Fri Oct 01, 2004 02:36pm
saving ball to self caref Basketball 14 Wed Oct 23, 2002 12:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1