The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 07:51am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Not a violation, Billy, when it's an endline throwin.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 08:05am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I saw one of these happen in a game, where the collision was really violent, knocking the screener A2 out of the game. The officials called a flagrant foul and ejected the defender B1. Sub A6 came in and shot both free throws to take the lead, and eventually the win. The B team decided to throw a long pass but the boy ended up throwing OOB at the other end. A gets the ball back, and ends up shooting another set of free throws because of an intentional foul by B. Freaking bizarre ending to a game.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 08:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
I may be wrong, but from a discussion last year about a similar situation, I thought it was determined that if, in the judgment of the official, the screener was outside of the defender's field of view that there was no violation, regardless of the force of the impact.

Is that not correct?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by VolDoug View Post
I may be wrong, but from a discussion last year about a similar situation, I thought it was determined that if, in the judgment of the official, the screener was outside of the defender's field of view that there was no violation, regardless of the force of the impact.

Is that not correct?

Read the definition of screening -- it requires the player being screend to stop (or attempt to stop) on contact.

And, that usually wouldn't apply on the type of screen being discussed.

Frankly, I'm surprised the play still works. I'd think that coaches would tell the player guarding the inbounder to be ready for it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 74
contact is not a foul

The play as described is not a foul. Contact on a blind screen is not a foul. If the defender did not see the screener, it is not a foul!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 08:38am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbioteach View Post
The play as described is not a foul. Contact on a blind screen is not a foul. If the defender did not see the screener, it is not a foul!
Oh, really?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbioteach View Post
The play as described is not a foul. Contact on a blind screen is not a foul. If the defender did not see the screener, it is not a foul!
Rule reference please.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 74
Rules reference

Incidental Contact NCAA
4-40-5 A player who screened outside his or her visual field may make inadvertent contact with the screener.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by VolDoug View Post
I may be wrong, but from a discussion last year about a similar situation, I thought it was determined that if, in the judgment of the official, the screener was outside of the defender's field of view that there was no violation, regardless of the force of the impact.

Is that not correct?
A foul is not based on the severity of the contact.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Not a violation, Billy, when it's an endline throwin.
That's one opinion and I don't agree with it.

The rule does not say a teamamte of the thrower can be OOB on a throw-in. The rule says the teammate can be BEYOND THE BOUNDARY LINE. A player who has one foot inbounds and one foot OOB is NOT beyond the boundary line.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Tue Mar 10, 2009 at 09:39am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 04:51pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,554
One should never generalize.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Did the screener have a foot on the boundary line?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Not a violation, Billy, when it's an endline throwin.
I'm not saying that it is a violation, or a foul, but, I'm also not saying that it is a violation, or a foul. Didn't we just have a very long thread discussing this a few weeks ago? Did we come up with a definitive answer to this. Snaqwells seems very confident in his answer. Do we all agree with him? I'd like to know the right answer.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 10, 2009, 06:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I'm not saying that it is a violation, or a foul, but, I'm also not saying that it is a violation, or a foul. Didn't we just have a very long thread discussing this a few weeks ago? Did we come up with a definitive answer to this. Snaqwells seems very confident in his answer. Do we all agree with him? I'd like to know the right answer.
Confidence is part of my nature and not indicative of my accuracy. That said, in order for a player to get from inbounds to OOB, they have to be allowed to be, at one point, standing with one foot in and one foot out. Unless you're going to call a violation on the following play:

Following a made basket, A1 grabs the ball and heads OOB for the proper endline throwin. A2 then steps OOB as well and receives a pass from A1. A1 then leans forward due to balance and steps over the line before A2 releases the pass for the throwin.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 05:01pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,554
Ever wonder why you have to click on "Start" to stop Windows 98?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Confidence is part of my nature and not indicative of my accuracy. That said, in order for a player to get from inbounds to OOB, they have to be allowed to be, at one point, standing with one foot in and one foot out. Unless you're going to call a violation on the following play: Following a made basket, A1 grabs the ball and heads OOB for the proper endline throwin. A2 then steps OOB as well and receives a pass from A1. A1 then leans forward due to balance and steps over the line before A2 releases the pass for the throwin.
OK. Let's change it up a little. Team B scores. A1 legally steps out of bounds to make his throwin to A2, however, B1 immediately steals the thowin and is driving along the endline to the basket. Seeing what is about to happen, without delay in returning inbounds, A1 steps inbounds to take the charge. Everything that A1 does in terms of legal guarding position, is 100% legal, by the book, except A1 had one foot on the endline boundary line. Blocking foul on A1 because he had a foot on the boundary line, per a NFHS interpretation a few years ago, or player control foul because A1 was legally out of bounds? Now let's go back to the screen. Is the screen legal if the screener has one foot on the endline boundary line, and I already know that screens have nothing to do with legal guarding position? I honestly don't know the correct answer to this, but would love to be convinced one way, or the other.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
OK. Let's change it up a little. Team B scores. A1 legally steps out of bounds to make his throwin to A2, however, B1 immediately steals the thowin and is driving along the endline to the basket. Seeing what is about to happen, without delay in returning inbounds, A1 steps inbounds to take the charge. Everything that A1 does in terms of legal guarding position, is 100% legal, by the book, except A1 had one foot on the endline boundary line. Blocking foul on A1 because he had a foot on the boundary line, per a NFHS interpretation a few years ago, or player control foul because A1 was legally out of bounds? Now let's go back to the screen. Is the screen legal if the screener has one foot on the endline boundary line, and I already know that screens have nothing to do with legal guarding position? I honestly don't know the correct answer to this, but would love to be convinced one way, or the other.
We've had this (rather long) discussion a little while back when the NFHS ruling came out. First, all the NFHS said was A1 cannot have LGP, because one foot is OOB, or on the line. The discussion was whether A1 could still take a charge, even without LGP. I happen to feel that, even though A1 does not have LGP, they could still draw a charge if they were set and in the spot well before B1 got there. Not having LGP doesn't mean A1 can never draw a charge, only that they are more responsible for contact if it occurs in a close situation.

In your situation, I would say the same applies - even though A1 was legally OOB to begin with, they still do not have LGP when it comes B1. 4-23 (Guarding) specifically mentions in order for the player to obtain intial LGP, both feet must be on the playing court (inbounds). So their status would be no different than a player who was inbounds to start with.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
We've had this (rather long) discussion a little while back when the NFHS ruling came out. First, all the NFHS said was A1 cannot have LGP, because one foot is OOB, or on the line. The discussion was whether A1 could still take a charge, even without LGP. I happen to feel that, even though A1 does not have LGP, they could still draw a charge if they were set and in the spot well before B1 got there. Not having LGP doesn't mean A1 can never draw a charge, only that they are more responsible for contact if it occurs in a close situation.
Have you read case book play 4.23.3SitB(a) lately? That couldn't be more explicit and it says that your premise is wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 07:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I'm away from home this week, can someone post the case play?

I don't recall that this case said a stationary defender could be guilty of a block. I recall it mentions a player maintaining LGP (that means moving), and the very specific reasoning for calling the block was the loss of LGP. If LGP is not required, then the case play is not relevant.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Wed Mar 11, 2009 at 07:30pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where do you draw the line? Back In The Saddle Basketball 8 Tue Dec 09, 2008 08:27pm
Varsity draw Ch1town Basketball 6 Thu Sep 18, 2008 04:20pm
Where to Draw the Line With Fans jkumpire Baseball 29 Thu Jul 27, 2006 05:09pm
Luck Of The Draw whiskers_ump Softball 0 Fri Mar 11, 2005 07:00am
Tournament Draw guccishoes Baseball 1 Thu Jul 08, 2004 08:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1