The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 17, 2009, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
It looks as though the treatment of NFHS 2.10.1(A), and NCAA A.R. 27 are the same. Both cases involve team A not shooting a FT that should have been awarded, and in both cases, team A still had possession when the error was discovered. Therefore, we would line up to shoot the FT('s) as normal.

In the OP's case, B rebounded and called a TO. So, since there was a change of possession, A would shoot the second of 2, with no one on the lane, and play would resume at POI, which was a throw-in for B closest to the spot where they were when the TO was requested.

Am I missing something, or is it the same under both codes?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 17, 2009, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
It looks as though the treatment of NFHS 2.10.1(A), and NCAA A.R. 27 are the same. Both cases involve team A not shooting a FT that should have been awarded, and in both cases, team A still had possession when the error was discovered. Therefore, we would line up to shoot the FT('s) as normal.
Are you using this year's FED case book?

The play, which seems to be what the OP is asking:

*2.10.1 SITUATION A: A1 is fouled and entitled to two free throws under the
double-bonus rule, however, the officials indicate a one-and-one bonus situation.
The first attempt is unsuccessful; B4 rebounds the ball and passes it up to B2.
The error is discovered with B2 in possession of the live ball near mid-court.
RULING: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall
be corrected. Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes
no change in team possession. Therefore, A1 will receive the merited free
throw with players on the lane and play resumes from the free throw. (2-10-1a)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 17, 2009, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Are you using this year's FED case book?
No, I wasn't, and now I see what you mean. I guess I vaguely remember this discussion earlier, but my eyes have a tendency to glaze over when the subject of correctible errors comes up. Even though I understand the basics, for me "correctible errors" is a four-letter word, and I try to avoid them as much as humanly possible.

Fwiw, I don't agree with this new interp either. I think there has been a change of possession with the rebound by B.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 17, 2009, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mizzouah!
Posts: 352
Maybe you are thinking about this play

A1 is fouled by B1. The table says we are in the bonus. A1 shoots and misses the 1st shot when Team B rebounds the ball. The table buzzes us over and says its only 6 fouls. So I give team B the ball because of the POI since they had possession of the ball when the table buzz us over.

In FED, this is correct since B had poss. In NCAA, the ball would be given back to Team A where the original foul happen
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW: NCAA creates a Casebook Nevadaref Basketball 4 Sat Sep 08, 2007 06:13pm
Timing Error - NCAA-W - Clock stops during play jdw3018 Basketball 5 Thu Mar 29, 2007 04:27pm
Casebook error? Topshelf Football 17 Fri Jul 08, 2005 09:22pm
Another Correctable Error Play Blackhawk357 Basketball 4 Tue Feb 18, 2003 08:25pm
Casebook error? Joel Poli Basketball 1 Wed Oct 09, 2002 10:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1