![]() |
|
|||
Coaching Box Question
This issue was raised in another thread, and I want to see what the veteran posters think. Head coach gets ejected in the 1st half. Is the assistant now allowed to stand, or does the loss of the box for HC mean loss of the box for all? I admit that I had always assumed that once it's gone, it's gone, but looking at the language of the rule and considering some other possibilities, I'm no longer sure.
The rule says that the 1st direct or indirect to HC "results in loss of coaching box privilege and the head coach must remain seated. . ." We say that the assistant doesn't get to stand because only the HC can stand, and we dumped him. But, if we extend that logic, what happens when a player on the bench MF's us? Rule says we charge that indirectly to HC, but we dumped the HC. We can't have it both ways, can we? |
|
|||
We aren't having it both ways. IMO, in HS (FED), the adult replacing the HC is now acting as HC and has all the same privelelges that the HC had when ejected. We need to quit thinking of it as "the HC is seatbelted" and think of it only as "coaching box priveleges are gone."
|
|
|||
Quote:
Scratch: I could not have said it better myself. Well done lad. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
From 10.5.1 SITUATION F: ...Whenever the coach has been charged (directly or indirectly) with a technical foul , he/she shall be informed that the privilege of using the coaching box has been lost for the entire game... Slightly off-topic (from the category of "I did not know that": From 10.5.1 SITUATION E:...However, if the coach begins the game by sitting somewhere other than where the box is located, he/she may not use the box privileges any time during the game. The coach must begin the game in a position within the box if he/she wishes to stand when permitted under the optional coaching-box provisions. I wonder how many cowards are afraid to enforce this rule. ![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Fri Feb 13, 2009 at 04:33pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Had it in our regional game the other night. We told the coach we would enforce it. He chose to sit in the box to start the game. |
|
|||
From 2005-2006 points of emphasis:
"D. Coaching box: The committee wants coaches to stay in the coaching box. There is a constant problem when coaches wander... Once the coaching box has been removed because of a technical foul, all related rules restrictions must apply. There's no way to get the box back after the privilege has been lost." http://www.nfhs.org/web/2005/05/2005..._emphasis.aspx To me that says once the privilege has been removed, it can't come back. Sort of a side question. If the HC is ejected does this mean that any T's that would have been indirectly applied to the HC do not get applied to the AC? I would say they can't because the AC doesn't magically become the HC, he's still the AC. Yes or no? Last edited by WreckRef; Fri Feb 13, 2009 at 05:51pm. Reason: easier to read correctly |
|
|||
Not true. I'm now offering a "coaches technical foul" rider on my foul insurance policy.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Check the past interps!!!
Guys,
When a question like this comes up all that you need to do is consult the past interps archive! ![]() 2001-02 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 9: At the end of their pre-game warm-up, players A1, A4, A5, A9 each dunk the ball and subsequently leave the floor and go to their dressing room. RULING: A technical foul is assessed to each player. The game starts with eight (8) free throws (2 for each of the technical fouls) and the ball is awarded to B at the division line opposite the table. Four team fouls toward the bonus are assessed to A. The head coach of A is assessed an indirect technical foul for each offense (4) and is subsequently ejected from the contest. Any coach assuming the responsibilities of the head coach for the game would not have the use of the coaching box. (10-3-5; 10-5 Pen) Now you can cease debating this. ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Coaching Box | budjones05 | Basketball | 3 | Sun Dec 03, 2006 09:57am |
Coaching Box Question | Mark Dexter | Basketball | 15 | Sun Dec 18, 2005 04:49am |
Another Coaching Box Question | Grail | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 18, 2005 04:37am |
Coaching box color question | mplagrow | Basketball | 9 | Mon Oct 31, 2005 03:47am |
Coaching Question | Jim Armstrong | Basketball | 5 | Mon Feb 18, 2002 02:19pm |