The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 13, 2009, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 95
Coaching Box Question

This issue was raised in another thread, and I want to see what the veteran posters think. Head coach gets ejected in the 1st half. Is the assistant now allowed to stand, or does the loss of the box for HC mean loss of the box for all? I admit that I had always assumed that once it's gone, it's gone, but looking at the language of the rule and considering some other possibilities, I'm no longer sure.

The rule says that the 1st direct or indirect to HC "results in loss of coaching box privilege and the head coach must remain seated. . ." We say that the assistant doesn't get to stand because only the HC can stand, and we dumped him. But, if we extend that logic, what happens when a player on the bench MF's us? Rule says we charge that indirectly to HC, but we dumped the HC. We can't have it both ways, can we?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coaching Box budjones05 Basketball 3 Sun Dec 03, 2006 09:57am
Coaching Box Question Mark Dexter Basketball 15 Sun Dec 18, 2005 04:49am
Another Coaching Box Question Grail Basketball 6 Sun Dec 18, 2005 04:37am
Coaching box color question mplagrow Basketball 9 Mon Oct 31, 2005 03:47am
Coaching Question Jim Armstrong Basketball 5 Mon Feb 18, 2002 02:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1