The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 13, 2009, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
Doing some girls and middle school games so they things happen. Say a player makes a basket at the wrong end. Does the same team take out after the basket and can they run the line?
This happened to me for the first time a couple weeks ago. B1 rebounded a missed free throw and promptly put it back up. Wrong basket and, amazingly, uncontested. B2 grabbed the ball and inbounded with no hesitation and we were off and running again.
__________________
CALL WHAT YOU SEE AND SEE WHAT YOU CALL
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 13, 2009, 02:38pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
you know what you could do, but make sure the timer and refs know about it so they don't stop the clock. Because you don't want there to be confusion about the play. But at the end of the game make a basket on purpose. say the team is up by 3+ with under 10 seconds to go. Clock keeps running after the basket and time might run out.
kind of like taking a safety in football. risky strategy though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 13, 2009, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by muxbule View Post
This happened to me for the first time a couple weeks ago. B1 rebounded a missed free throw and promptly put it back up. Wrong basket and, amazingly, uncontested. B2 grabbed the ball and inbounded with no hesitation and we were off and running again.
Oh, and throwing the ball at the opponents backboard also constitutes a dribble, so if the player that "shot" at the wrong basket had already dribbled, they can't get their own "rebound" without there being a double dribble, I think.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 13, 2009, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by stosh View Post
Oh, and throwing the ball at the opponents backboard also constitutes a dribble, so if the player that "shot" at the wrong basket had already dribbled, they can't get their own "rebound" without there being a double dribble, I think.
In your case, if the player was airborne when they threw the ball against the opponents backboard, it would be a travel. (pivot foot violation.) If they were in contact with the floor when they threw the ball against the opponents backboard, it would be double dribble (starting a second dribble.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1 to A2 OOB after B made basket RSmith Basketball 4 Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:30am
Throw In after Made Basket actuary77 Basketball 15 Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:25pm
Made basket, Throw in. texaspaul Basketball 2 Sun Dec 02, 2007 08:33pm
OOB after made basket dknick78 Basketball 24 Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:15am
Made basket ttownterp Basketball 2 Thu Feb 23, 2006 08:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1