The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Delay Returning to Court

Seems to be some disparity among my fellow officials here on this one. Time out on the court . . . team B makes substitutions during the time out. When they return to the court the officials "count" players and give lead the OK to inbound the ball (who is opposite table). Problem: team B has only 4 players. Coach realizes that there are only 4 and yells for his player to get in there. Player runs on to the floor after the ball has been inbounded and eventually catches a pass and scores. It was a contested shot so he didn't catch them off guard. Here's the question: do I have a technical foul in accordance to 10.1.9 OR do I have nothing according to 10.3.2 (check out sit. B in the case book)?
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
T.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer View Post
Seems to be some disparity among my fellow officials here on this one. Time out on the court . . . team B makes substitutions during the time out. When they return to the court the officials "count" players and give lead the OK to inbound the ball (who is opposite table). Problem: team B has only 4 players. Coach realizes that there are only 4 and yells for his player to get in there. Player runs on to the floor after the ball has been inbounded and eventually catches a pass and scores. It was a contested shot so he didn't catch them off guard. Here's the question: do I have a technical foul in accordance to 10.1.9 OR do I have nothing according to 10.3.2 (check out sit. B in the case book)?

the diffference is between a TO and a "lengthy substitution" (or whatever the phraseology is in the case).

This is one rule I'd like to see changed.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
the diffference is between a TO and a "lengthy substitution" (or whatever the phraseology is in the case).

This is one rule I'd like to see changed.
That's why I pointed out the substitution during the TO.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
T.
I would agree that we have a T here. But for which infraction? Failure to bring out 5 after the timeout or for the player coming onto the court without being beckoned?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 03:04pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski View Post
I would agree that we have a T here. But for which infraction? Failure to bring out 5 after the timeout or for the player coming onto the court without being beckoned?
He's not a substitute. He doesn't have to be beckoned.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Ahhh... But of course
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 03:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Just go with the team T for failing to have all 5 return at the same time.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 06:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,916
Nine Plus One Equals Ten ???

10.1.9 SITUATION: Following a charged time-out Team B is still with their coach on the sideline when the official sounds the whistle to indicate play will resume. Four players of B return to the court just in time to play defense as A1 attempts an unsuccessful three-pointer. B1 rebounds and throws a long pass to B5 who enters the court just in time to catch the pass. RULING: A technical foul is immed iately charged to Team B for failing to have all players return to the court at approximately the same time following a time-out or intermission. While it is true the entire team may be off the court while the procedure is being used, once a team responds, all players must enter the court at approximately the same time.

10.3.2 SITUATION B: After a lengthy substitution process involving multiple substitutions for both Team A and Team B, A5 goes to the bench and remains there, mistakenly believing he/she has been replaced. The ball is put in play even
though Team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into A’s frontcourt when the coach of Team A realizes they have only four players. The coach yells for A5 to return and he/she sprints directly onto the court and catches
up with the play. RULING: No technical foul is charged to A5. A5’s return to the court was not deceitful, nor did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage on the court.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2009, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,510
It was instructive when the NFHS first issued these two play rulings that now appear in the case book as an interpretation on its website because they appeared together in one situation, however, there was a sentence that clearly distinguished the two. Personally, I agree with Bob and don't like the fact that they are different.

2007-08 Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Following a (a) charged time-out; or (b) a lengthy substitution process involving multiple substitutions for both teams, A5 goes to the bench and remains there mistakenly believing he/she has been replaced by a substitute. The ball is put in play even though Team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into A's frontcourt when the coach of Team A realizes they have only four players. The coach yells for A5 to return, and he/she sprints onto the court and catches up with play.RULING: In (a), the officials shall stop play and assess a team technical foul for not having all players return to the court at approximately the same time after a time-out. The technical foul counts toward the team-foul count. In (b), the officials may permit play to continue without penalty. A5's return to the court was not deceitful, nor did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage on the court. COMMENT: Even though neither situation provided A5 or Team A with an advantage, teams are expected to return to the court at approximately the same time following a time-out. The officials should have also followed the prescribed mechanics and counted the number of players on the court, ensuring each team has the legal number of players. (10-1-9; 10-3-3)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Returning after TO slow whistle Basketball 18 Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:54pm
Turned down the opportunity to call "Delay Return to the Court" T yesterday. ca_rumperee Basketball 16 Thu Jan 24, 2008 04:16am
runner out /not returning cloverdale Softball 1 Thu Apr 28, 2005 11:43pm
simple- returning to court DrC. Basketball 5 Thu Mar 09, 2000 04:18pm
Returning to the Diamond Mackey Baseball 0 Tue Mar 07, 2000 05:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1