The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 09:06am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
1) 2000-2001 BASKETBALL INTERPRETATIONS
SUPPLEMENT #1 (11/9/00)
SITUATION 1: A1 is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, A1 fumbles the ball (while still in the air) and drops it. A1 then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the ball must be released for a try or pass. (4—43-3a; 94)

2)The NCAA has a different ruling.
A.R. 85.
However, if a fumble is touched by another player and then recovered by A1, while airborne or after a return to the floor, A1 is allowed to
start another dribble.
1) Completely irrelevant as this play doesn't involve the loose ball being touched by another player during the fumble before player control was regained by A1. Apples and watermelons.

2) Hmmmmmm......

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sat Feb 07, 2009 at 09:18am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 11:03am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
I have been slogging (Now I know how other people feel when they read my erudite postings, NOT! ) through JR and NevadaRef's posts and I am suprised that neither of them have given a ruling; they both should become politicians, . Anyway, I am going to toss my hat into the ring.

Let us look at this play, step-by-step:

1) A1 jumps into the air for a field goal attempt, therefore, A1 is now in the act-of-shooting. The act-of-shooting ends when A1 releases the ball for the try. When A1 releases the ball for the try, player control and team control ceases to exist for A1 and Team A respectively.

Note #1: Both NFHS and NCAA Rules define player control as a player holding or dribbling a live ball in bounds.

2) A2 made contact with the ball and knocks the ball completely out of A1's hands.

Question #2a: Did A2's actions cause A1 to lose player control of the ball?

Question #2b: If A2's actions did cause A1 to lose player control of the ball, can A1 recover the ball and start a dribble?

I think that we are getting hung up on the word fumble and I do not think that it is relevant to this discussion because another player touched the ball in a manner that caused A1 to lose player control.

I will go on the record stating that I am sure the play looked weird, but, I will also say that A1 can recover the ball and start a new dribble.

Note to BillyMac: See no maybe, maybe not, .

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Seems pretty clear to me. A2 causes player control to end. Now A1 gets a new player control. No violation, regardless of what the hypothetical violation might be called.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 06:32pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,407
You Were Killing The Poor Fence ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Note to BillyMac: No maybe, maybe not.
I'm glad that you finally got off the fence.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 06:34pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I'm glad that you finally got off the fence.

It was all those rocks that people were throwing at me that made me fall off.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
1) Completely irrelevant as this play doesn't involve the loose ball being touched by another player during the fumble before player control was regained by A1. Apples and watermelons.

2) Hmmmmmm......
Reading the thread again today, I now see your point. It was late last night and I must have been tired. I misread the OP. I failed to comprehend that the ball was knocked loose by a teammate, A2. I read that as A1 and thus thought that the player smacked the ball off his own shoulder and lost control. Hence, the play rulings that I previously posted.

For the record the play in the OP is legal and A1 may recover the ball and dribble again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Let me make sure I'm following because I had a similar play with one change. In my play it was B1 that knocked the ball loose from A1. A1 while still in the air regained control of the ball and THEN landed.

No violation since player control was lost?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 07:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Let me make sure I'm following because I had a similar play with one change. In my play it was B1 that knocked the ball loose from A1. A1 while still in the air regained control of the ball and THEN landed.

No violation since player control was lost?
Correct. I had this exact play. A1 goes up for a shot. B1 knocks it loose. A1 grabs it while she's still in the air and lands with it. I call nothing and the fans are kind enough to inform me that I missed something.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Travel, Illegal Dribble, or No Violation sportmagic Basketball 12 Fri Mar 10, 2006 05:22pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm
A travel or not a travel RefJeff Basketball 4 Wed Oct 01, 2003 12:19pm
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm
Travel or not.... scooter Basketball 2 Mon Dec 03, 2001 10:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1