The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
First half of a girls game and the coach yells in the officials ear for a time out. Without thinking the official blows his whistle to stop play, and then realizes that the coach who ask for the time out didn't have possession of the ball.

According to the case book *5.8.3 "....Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted: once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B."

My question is was the time out "Granted" by simply blowing your whistle?
When you blow the whistle, the ball becomes dead. You have no other choice but to.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Oregon, OH
Posts: 166
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
When you blow the whistle, the ball becomes dead. You have no other choice but to.
To play devil's advocate... upon blowing whistle and recognizing the fact could you rule an inadvertant whistle?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOFFICIAL View Post
To play devil's advocate... upon blowing whistle and recognizing the fact could you rule an inadvertant whistle?
Yes, you technical rule inadvertent whistle and then you grant the timeout. But it's typically wrapped into one.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 10:34am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOFFICIAL View Post
To play devil's advocate... upon blowing whistle and recognizing the fact could you rule an inadvertant whistle?

MOFFICIAL:

To answer your question:

NFHS: NO


NCAA: YES

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 11:41am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOFFICIAL View Post
To play devil's advocate... upon blowing whistle and recognizing the fact could you rule an inadvertant whistle?
Doesn't matter, because now the ball is dead and either coach may request a TO. Either the coach still wants it, so you give it to him; or he was just trying to stop the clock, don't reward this by stopping the clock and not charging him with a TO.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Doesn't matter, because now the ball is dead and either coach may request a TO. Either the coach still wants it, so you give it to him; or he was just trying to stop the clock, don't reward this by stopping the clock and not charging him with a TO.
That is what we thought as well....what would prevent a coach from trying that tactic again if they weren't charged a time out. Obviously a Technical foul if they abused that rule, but I feel that when the whistle blows you are awarding that team a time out even if it is erroneously awarded.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2009, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Doesn't matter, because now the ball is dead and either coach may request a TO. Either the coach still wants it, so you give it to him; or he was just trying to stop the clock, don't reward this by stopping the clock and not charging him with a TO.
Actually, 5.8.3 Sit E covers this exactly. Once the TO is erroneously granted, it is charged to the team and it cannot be revoked. Iow, you don't get a chance to ask the coach if they still want the TO; it's been granted.

Since it is also an inadvertant whistle situation, the ball will be put back in play using POI. If there was team control, the ball is given back the team last in control. If it was during a FT or throw-in, the ball will be put back in play that way. If there was no team control, then AP is used.

I know this because I own this rule.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2009, 10:47am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Actually, 5.8.3 Sit E covers this exactly. Once the TO is erroneously granted, it is charged to the team and it cannot be revoked. Iow, you don't get a chance to ask the coach if they still want the TO; it's been granted.
I know this, I was just talking through the logic of not giving him an option.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2009, 11:14am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Doesn't matter, because now the ball is dead and either coach may request a TO. Either the coach still wants it, so you give it to him; or he was just trying to stop the clock, don't reward this by stopping the clock and not charging him with a TO.
I mentioned this a couple of years ago:

Had a coach who requested a TO when the opposing team had the ball at its disposal for a end-line throw-in after a successful free throw (and subs). I bone-headedly blew my whistle. As I should I granted his time-out. After the game the coach told me he had done this in other games but I was the first official to enforce the TO. He said in the previous games he would use the momemtary interruption to set up his press.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 06:14pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
When you blow the whistle, the ball becomes dead.
This is undeniably true. Yet, for me it revives the question of when the timeout is actually granted. Example: The accepted practice is to grant a timeout when the request is made by a player going out of bounds, even though the whistle does not blow until after the player lands. An editorial change, perhaps a definition of when a timeout is "granted" would be nice.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long Time Lurker, First Time Poster SoInZebra Basketball 122 Mon Mar 26, 2007 04:10pm
the time displayed as post time is way off chuck chopper General / Off-Topic 2 Wed Mar 29, 2006 02:09pm
Another long time listener, first time caller Fifth And Goal Basketball 11 Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am
Lag time when coach calls time out JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Mon Jan 12, 2004 03:43pm
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? Deion Softball 1 Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1