![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A.R.98 B1 takes a spot on the playing court before A1 jumps to catch a pass. (1) A1 returns to the playing court and lands on B1, or (2) B1 moves to a new spot and while A1 is airborne. A1 returns to the floor on one foot and charges into B1. RULING: in both (1) and (2), the foul shall be on A1 because B1 is entitled to that spot on the floor provided that he/she gets there legally before the offensive player becomes airborne. Note that in AR98 #1, it doesn't specify whether the "spot on the playing court" taken by B1 is laying down or standing up. Note that "jumps to catch a pass" is no different than "jumps to catch a rebound". Note that A.R. 97 refers to an offensive player on the floor moving into a defensive player, not an airborne player landing on a defender. I didn't see the play...but if the WF player was on the floor before the Dook player jumped and the Dook player didn't jump straight up and down, AR98 sureasheck might be applicable. Also, FYI, there was an NCAA Directive issued back in 1990 that is still in force: NCAA Directive 113: If there is any doubt when contact occurs, the foul should automatically be charged to the precious little Dookie player, not the opponent. In addition, a technical foul should automatically also be charged to the whiny little hemmorhoid that coaches Duke. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Jan 29, 2009 at 07:06am. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Defender intentionally falls onto hands and knees... | PSidbury | Basketball | 47 | Thu Jun 12, 2008 01:57pm |
| runner falls down! | cards2323 | Baseball | 7 | Fri May 25, 2007 02:15pm |
| Defensive rebounder player control foul? | rfp | Basketball | 1 | Mon Mar 20, 2006 08:27am |
| Runner stumbles and falls across 1B | jprideaux | Baseball | 6 | Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:22pm |
| Wichita Falls, Texas | a.f.sports | Basketball | 2 | Tue Apr 23, 2002 12:58pm |