![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
At the NFHS level there was an old case play which stated that it was not a foul to be tripped over while lying on the floor. It no longer appears in the Case Book.
At the NCAA level there is a current approved ruling that a defender does not have LGP while lying on the floor and that it is a blocking foul if the offensive player trips over him. I can't say conclusively whether that play ruling should apply to the situation in the Duke/WF game. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Now, I understand the sentiment of not wanting to send the #1 team in the country to the line with 2.8 seconds left just because a guy was lying on the floor, but I guess I'm just not clear on when rules are supposed to be set aside for the greater context of the game and when they're not. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I have nothing conclusive either way about the desire of the NCAA rules makers. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Just admit it, Nevada. It's ok. We all know that, cosmetically, you have to call the travel in this instance. I understand why you have to call the travel, but let's stop pretending and hiding behind what we don't know about what "the NCAA desires" as far as rules go. We know the rule. A player lying on the floor does not have LGP. We also know that if an offensive player is put at an obvious disadvantage by a player not in LGP, it is normally called a foul. By the book, it should have been a foul. But not everything on ESPN primetime is done by the book. No? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Nevada already gave us a rule reference stating that a player on the floor does not have LGP.
Do you really need a rule reference stating that if a defender displaces an offensive player while not having LGP a foul should be called? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A.R.98 B1 takes a spot on the playing court before A1 jumps to catch a pass. (1) A1 returns to the playing court and lands on B1, or (2) B1 moves to a new spot and while A1 is airborne. A1 returns to the floor on one foot and charges into B1. RULING: in both (1) and (2), the foul shall be on A1 because B1 is entitled to that spot on the floor provided that he/she gets there legally before the offensive player becomes airborne. Note that in AR98 #1, it doesn't specify whether the "spot on the playing court" taken by B1 is laying down or standing up. Note that "jumps to catch a pass" is no different than "jumps to catch a rebound". Note that A.R. 97 refers to an offensive player on the floor moving into a defensive player, not an airborne player landing on a defender. I didn't see the play...but if the WF player was on the floor before the Dook player jumped and the Dook player didn't jump straight up and down, AR98 sureasheck might be applicable. Also, FYI, there was an NCAA Directive issued back in 1990 that is still in force: NCAA Directive 113: If there is any doubt when contact occurs, the foul should automatically be charged to the precious little Dookie player, not the opponent. In addition, a technical foul should automatically also be charged to the whiny little hemmorhoid that coaches Duke. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Jan 29, 2009 at 07:06am. |
|
|||
|
Since when does LGP apply to rebounders? WF player was the floor and rebounder landed on him and fell. A.R. 97 does not address rebounding action.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Right now, you seem like a whining Duke fanboy.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Well played, Nevada. One of your best arguments yet. Surprised you didn't call me a spineless moron this time, though. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
He has not once done anything in this thread but explain or ask for of the current interpretations. You on the other hand have used the hyperbole to justify your point of view by talking about the team rankings and who was watching on TV. I think he has completely addressed you respectfully and tried to answer your questions (as have I). If anyone has tried to have a rational discussion it was Nevada and me. He just pointed out what might be your motivation after you want to argue over language which you have yet to show or prove. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'm not positing that the player on the FLOOR (the one who did not have LGP) was fouled, but rather that he DID THE FOULING. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Or try this: The ball is going OOB and A1 dives in an attempt to save it. He is not able to control the ball, but is able to knock the ball into open space in an inbounds area of the court. A1 ends up lying face down on the floor with his body half inbounds and half OOB. B2 was standing nearby and now takes off running after the ball at full speed. He trips over the leg of the prone A1 and falls down. Is that a foul on A1? Or even simpler: A1 is able to gain control of the ball in the above situation and manages to remain inbounds. However, he is prone on the floor. B2 who was also pursuing the ball, but got there a clear second later than A1 now reaches the scene and trips over A1 and falls down. Is that a PC foul? Yes, I think that we need further clarification because it is doubtful that the play ruling which I cited in post #15 is to cover all situations in which a player is lying on the floor. Particularly, I find the situations that I just posted above to be outside the scope of the approved ruling. Last edited by Nevadaref; Thu Jan 29, 2009 at 01:16am. |
|
|||
|
Hey! There's nothing wrong with being a Duke fanboy! ![]() Are we going to discuss whether or not the Wake player pushed off to get that open on the final shot? I didn't think so. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Defender intentionally falls onto hands and knees... | PSidbury | Basketball | 47 | Thu Jun 12, 2008 01:57pm |
| runner falls down! | cards2323 | Baseball | 7 | Fri May 25, 2007 02:15pm |
| Defensive rebounder player control foul? | rfp | Basketball | 1 | Mon Mar 20, 2006 08:27am |
| Runner stumbles and falls across 1B | jprideaux | Baseball | 6 | Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:22pm |
| Wichita Falls, Texas | a.f.sports | Basketball | 2 | Tue Apr 23, 2002 12:58pm |