The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2009, 11:52pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
Ok thanks for the replies. Just edited it. A2 has one foot in the backcourt and one in the front and passes to A3 who jumps from the backcourt and catches it in air and lands in the frontcourt.



3. A2 catches the pass with one foot in front one the in back. If A2 dribbles in the backcourt is it a violation? If not, after the dribble in the BC can he pass to the jumping A3 who lands from the back to the frontcourt.

Last edited by mutantducky; Tue Jan 27, 2009 at 11:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2009, 11:54pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
Ok thanks for the replies. Just edited it. A2 has one foot in the backcourt and one in the front and passes to A3 who jumps from the backcourt and catches it in air and lands in the frontcourt.
One thing to keep in mind is that the 10-second count continues. . . until A3 causes the ball to obtain frontcourt status. (In your sitch, this is when A3 lands in the FC.)
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2009, 11:59pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
Just to clarify- if A2 foot in the first example is in the BC and the other is in the front, then it is not a violation to throw the pass to A3?
If A2 had both feet or one in the front and the other in the air without it having been in the front then that is a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 12:03am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
Just to clarify- if A2 foot in the first example is in the BC and the other is in the front, then it is not a violation to throw the pass to A3?

If A2 had both feet or one in the front and the other in the air without it having been in the front then that is a violation.
Correct on both accounts.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 12:05am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
ok thanks, then I guess 3 is ok as well.

3. A2 catches the pass with one foot in front one the in back. If A2 dribbles in the backcourt is it a violation? If not, after the dribble in the BC can he pass to the jumping A3 who lands from the back to the frontcourt.


let me edit this- too many bc stuff and I've been looking them up.. Same as 3-- After the dribble in the backcourt can A2 dribble in the front and then BC again if one foot remains in the backcourt. Or switch, dribble first in the back and then the front and back again in foot remains in the bc. So the pass to A3 would still be legal if A2 is a dribbler who needs to have 3 points in the FC.

Last edited by mutantducky; Wed Jan 28, 2009 at 12:10am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
ok thanks, then I guess 3 is ok as well.

3. A2 catches the pass with one foot in front one the in back. If A2 dribbles in the backcourt is it a violation? If not, after the dribble in the BC can he pass to the jumping A3 who lands from the back to the frontcourt.


let me edit this- too many bc stuff and I've been looking them up.. Same as 3-- After the dribble in the backcourt can A2 dribble in the front and then BC again if one foot remains in the backcourt. Or switch, dribble first in the back and then the front and back again in foot remains in the bc. So the pass to A3 would still be legal if A2 is a dribbler who needs to have 3 points in the FC.
A is in the BC if either foot is in the BC or if A is in the air having left from the BC. During a dribble, all three points must be in the FC.

In all of your plays, the player is in the BC and NEVER goes to the FC. So, your plays are the equivalent of "A1 stands near the FT line in the BC and passes the ball to another player who is in the BC." That's obviously legal, and so are all your plays.

BTW, the division line is not "neutral". It's in both teams' BC.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
As Bob points out, the line is in the BC.

A player is in the BC until completely in the FC. For a dribbler, that means both feet and the ball. For a non-dribbler, that means something in the FC and nothing in the BC (similar to in bounds).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 10:13am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
Just to clarify- if A2 foot in the first example is in the BC and the other is in the front, then it is not a violation to throw the pass to A3?
If A2 had both feet or one in the front and the other in the air without it having been in the front then that is a violation.
mutant, you can answer you own questions if you first determine A2's status (backcourt/frontcourt) first and then concern yourself with the subsequent actions.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Jan 28, 2009 at 10:26am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt questions moref Basketball 15 Tue Oct 30, 2007 02:34pm
neutral zone garwood8499 Football 5 Sat Sep 02, 2006 04:01pm
neutral block Hard Basketball 16 Thu Dec 29, 2005 06:50am
neutral boxes pinchmaster Basketball 9 Mon Feb 28, 2005 11:21pm
Questions on the line of scrimmage and lining up devilsadvocate Football 4 Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1