![]() |
|
|
|||
backcourt questions, and line neutral?
A1 in the backcourt passes to A2 who catches the ball with one foot in the frontcourt. Edit- Second foot is in the backcourt. A2 then throws a pass to A3 who jumps from the backcourt and lands in the frontcourt. Violation?
2. Same but A2 catches with both feet in the backcourt and dribbles once in the frontcourt. A2 then does the pass to A3. Midcourt line, division line or whatever people call it. Is the line neutral? By that I mean if A2 foot is on the line but not in the frontcourt is it still in the backcourt. Same with a dribble on the line and if the ref can’t tell if it is advanced do you wait for one more to tell if it is clearly over. I think I saw somewhere here that only when dribbling does the 3 points count, is that true? If that is then I’m thinking 1 is a violation and 2 isn’t. Last edited by mutantducky; Tue Jan 27, 2009 at 11:49pm. |
|
|||
Assuming A2's second foot is not in the BC, the first play is a violation.
The second play is legal. Yes, three points only works when dribbling.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis Last edited by JugglingReferee; Tue Jan 27, 2009 at 11:13pm. |
|
|||
Ok thanks for the replies. Just edited it. A2 has one foot in the backcourt and one in the front and passes to A3 who jumps from the backcourt and catches it in air and lands in the frontcourt.
3. A2 catches the pass with one foot in front one the in back. If A2 dribbles in the backcourt is it a violation? If not, after the dribble in the BC can he pass to the jumping A3 who lands from the back to the frontcourt. Last edited by mutantducky; Tue Jan 27, 2009 at 11:56pm. |
|
|||
One thing to keep in mind is that the 10-second count continues. . . until A3 causes the ball to obtain frontcourt status. (In your sitch, this is when A3 lands in the FC.)
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Just to clarify- if A2 foot in the first example is in the BC and the other is in the front, then it is not a violation to throw the pass to A3?
If A2 had both feet or one in the front and the other in the air without it having been in the front then that is a violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed Jan 28, 2009 at 10:26am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt questions | moref | Basketball | 15 | Tue Oct 30, 2007 02:34pm |
neutral zone | garwood8499 | Football | 5 | Sat Sep 02, 2006 04:01pm |
neutral block | Hard | Basketball | 16 | Thu Dec 29, 2005 06:50am |
neutral boxes | pinchmaster | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 28, 2005 11:21pm |
Questions on the line of scrimmage and lining up | devilsadvocate | Football | 4 | Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:52am |