The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2009, 11:10pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
1. A1 in the backcourt passes to A2 who catches the ball with one foot in the frontcourt. A2 then throws a pass to A3 who jumps from the backcourt and lands in the frontcourt. Violation?

2. Same but A2 catches with both feet in the backcourt and dribbles once in the frontcourt. A2 then does the pass to A3.

3. Midcourt line, division line or whatever people call it. Is the line neutral? By that I mean if A2 foot is on the line but not in the frontcourt is it still in the backcourt. Same with a dribble on the line and if the ref can’t tell if it is advanced do you wait for one more to tell if it is clearly over.

I think I saw somewhere here that only when dribbling does the 3 points count, is that true? If that is then I’m thinking 1 is a violation and 2 isn’t.
  1. We need to know more information about A2's other foot. If A2's other foot is:
    1. touching the backcourt, then A2 still has backcourt status, and when A2 catches the ball, the ball continues to have backcourt status.
    2. touching the frontcourt or is in the air, then A2 has frontcourt status, and when A2 catches the ball, the ball now has frontcourt status

    When A3 catches the ball in the air, the ball now has backcourt status, since that is where A3 came from, and still is, because A3 hasn't landed anywhere else yet.

    So if A2 did cause the ball to obtain frontcourt status, the touching by A3 becomes a violation.
  2. A2 dribbling the FC, but himself in the BC means that there has not been team control in the FC, therefore the pass to A3 in the BC is not a violation
  3. The division line is in the backcourt of the team touching the division line. The 3-points privision (both feet and the ball) apply to a dribbler crossing the division line, therefore you are correct that (1) is a violation (providing that A2's other foot is in the frontcourt or is airborne) and (2) is not a violation.
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Tue Jan 27, 2009 at 11:13pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt questions moref Basketball 15 Tue Oct 30, 2007 02:34pm
neutral zone garwood8499 Football 5 Sat Sep 02, 2006 04:01pm
neutral block Hard Basketball 16 Thu Dec 29, 2005 06:50am
neutral boxes pinchmaster Basketball 9 Mon Feb 28, 2005 11:21pm
Questions on the line of scrimmage and lining up devilsadvocate Football 4 Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1