The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jan 20, 2009, 11:30pm
Official Forum Member

First Year: First Game From Hell...

As some of you know this is my first year working HS basketball. Well today I had the dreaded game from hell. I have read numerous other posts about the same thing from many of you, but my game had me thinking about a bunch of questions. I hope you guys can help me out.

This game was a Freshmen Girls game.

First of all to start this game I had a bad feeling driving to the gym, not sure why, just did. Got to the gym 30 minutes before a 3:30 start. Sat around waiting for my partner who I know, and is a nice guy but have never worked with him before. 10 minutes on the clock and he is still not there. I call him (again) and finally get a hold of him and he tells me that he is about 5 minutes away. I ask him if he wants me to do conduct the pre-game meeting so when he gets here we can get going, he says no he wants to be there. That is just fine with me, he is the R, I'll follow his "orders".

He shows up with less than 2 on the clock, we have the meeting and away we go. We have a held ball off of the opening tip. V grab the ball and within a second H grabs the ball creating our first held ball of the game. We award the ball to H, and give the arrow to V. Was this correct?

Both teams are full court pressing which is leading to numerous turnovers, and a lot of slapping fouls by the home team. We are trying to keep things even, but it's out of control. V are in the double bonus with 90 seconds left in the first quarter. Obviously the H coach is complaining as are the fans in this terribly cramped gym.

We make it to half time with out more incident, and the 3rd quarter goes as smooth as we could have hoped. 4th quarter comes, and it just falls apart.