The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Back Court Questions

A number of situations, one of which happened in a recent GV game, are similar to some of the recent back court questions.

Sitch 1: Opening Tip: Tapper A1 taps the tip into the air near the division line. A3, who is standing with both feet in the front court, jumps to get the ball, secures possession in the air, and lands in the back court. Is this legal?

Sitch 2: Opening Tip: Tapper A1 taps the tip downward with great force. The ball contacts the floor in the back court near the division line and bounds high into the air. A3, who is standing with both feet in the front court, jumps to get the ball, secures possession in the air, and lands in the back court. Is this legal?

Sitch 3: Opening Tip: Tapper A1 taps the ball and the ball deflects off of the referee up into the air. A3, who was in the front court, jumps to get the ball, secures possession in the air, and lands in the back court. Is this legal?

Sitch 4: Throw-in: A1 throws the ball into the court via a bounce pass near the division line, A2 while standing with both feet in the front court, jumps into the air, secures possession of the ball, and lands in the backcourt. Is this legal?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 12:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,069
None of these are BC Violations....

Because no team or player control was established in the front court.
__________________
"Stay in the game!"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 12:28am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
The jump ball ends when the ball hits the floor or the referee. Therefore if the player jumps from frontcourt, secures control while airborne, then lands in the backcourt, 2 & 3 would be violations.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 06:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 115
I think we have a winner...

Quote:
Originally Posted by williebfree View Post
Because no team or player control was established in the front court.
Except in the case of the throw-in, and there is no backcourt violation on a throw-in because there is no player or team control during a throw-in.

Last edited by ga314ref; Thu Jan 15, 2009 at 07:05am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by ga314ref View Post
Except in the case of the throw-in, and there is no backcourt violation on a throw-in because there is no player or team control during a throw-in.
Right ruling, wrong reason. The reason is that there is a specific exclusion in the rules for the throw-in play.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 09:25am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Seems like somebody should have posted a backcourt violation quiz earlier this season. . .
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Seems like somebody should have posted a backcourt violation quiz earlier this season. . .
Note to Billy Mac,
As I mentioned in my post in the other forum, I am thinking that there are a lot of things that go on around the division line (what was the purpose of that thing again? ), that officials and coaches misunderstand. This causes them to mis-apply the rules.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by williebfree View Post
Because no team or player control was established in the front court.
Wrong. TC and PC were established in the FC.

These would all be violations except for the exceptions in the rule (for plays 1 and 4).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 12:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shishmaref, Alaska
Posts: 187
Send a message via Skype™ to shishstripes
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Sitch 1: Opening Tip: Tapper A1 taps the tip into the air near the division line. A3, who is standing with both feet in the front court, jumps to get the ball, secures possession in the air, and lands in the back court. Is this legal?
Jump ball ends when A3 catches the ball, location established when he lands on the floor in BC. Legal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Sitch 2: Opening Tip: Tapper A1 taps the tip downward with great force. The ball contacts the floor in the back court near the division line and bounds high into the air. A3, who is standing with both feet in the front court, jumps to get the ball, secures possession in the air, and lands in the back court. Is this legal?
Jump Ball ends when ball contacts the floor with BC status, A3 is the first to touch with FC status, catches the ball giving it FC status, lands in BC giving it BC status. Illegal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Sitch 3: Opening Tip: Tapper A1 taps the ball and the ball deflects off of the referee up into the air. A3, who was in the front court, jumps to get the ball, secures possession in the air, and lands in the back court. Is this legal?
Hitting the referee is same as hitting the floor in the same location, so by rule same as the prior one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Sitch 4: Throw-in: A1 throws the ball into the court via a bounce pass near the division line, A2 while standing with both feet in the front court, jumps into the air, secures possession of the ball, and lands in the backcourt. Is this legal?
Throw-in ends when legally touched. Ball does not have status until player lands in BC.

Last edited by shishstripes; Thu Jan 15, 2009 at 01:49am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 02:21am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
throwing in from frontcourt baseline. A2 to A1 who is standing in the backcourt. He jumps up and catches the ball in air and lands in the frontcourt. ?
I don't think this one is a violation- same but A1 is in frontcourt, jumps and lands in backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 02:24am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
throwing in from frontcourt baseline. A2 to A1 who is standing in the backcourt. He jumps up and catches the ball in air and lands in the frontcourt. ?
I don't think this one is a violation- same but A1 is in frontcourt, jumps and lands in backcourt.
If nobody else deflects it first, any player may leap and catch the throw-in pass and land anywhere inbounds that he pleases.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back court? kbilla Basketball 5 Wed Sep 12, 2007 02:14am
Back Court or Not? IREFU2 Basketball 14 Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:06pm
Back Court co2ice Basketball 16 Sat Feb 04, 2006 09:37am
back court or not???? fastballbaker Basketball 17 Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:18pm
BACK COURT??? HELP SHANE MEENACH Basketball 8 Tue Feb 15, 2000 12:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1