The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 08, 2007, 07:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Back Court or Not?

Had a play happen on yesterday durning a games. A1 was dribbling near the center court line and got trapped by B1 and B2. Then A1 was falling toward the back court and he took the ball and bounced it off of B1 leg and it went into the back court and then A1 retreaved the ball. Is that back court or not? My partner was there and didnt call back court. I was in the "C" and was watching the play.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 08, 2007, 07:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
Had a play happen on yesterday durning a games. A1 was dribbling near the center court line and got trapped by B1 and B2. Then A1 was falling toward the back court and he took the ball and bounced it off of B1 leg and it went into the back court and then A1 retreaved the ball. Is that back court or not? My partner was there and didnt call back court. I was in the "C" and was watching the play.
C'mon -- you're good enough to know the answer to that question. Who was the last to touch the ball before it went to the BC?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 08, 2007, 10:11am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Smart play by A1.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 08, 2007, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
What would you call if this were an OOB situation?
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2007, 07:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
C'mon -- you're good enough to know the answer to that question. Who was the last to touch the ball before it went to the BC?
Yeah, but I have never seen that done before. So it was kind of odd. But, no back court was called.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2007, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,054
Did your partner start/continue the 10 second count?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2007, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
Did your partner start/continue the 10 second count?
I am not sure, I just got a peek of what happened and then I had to keep my eyes on my area.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2007, 10:33am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
Had a play happen on yesterday durning a games. A1 was dribbling near the center court line and got trapped by B1 and B2. Then A1 was falling toward the back court and he took the ball and bounced it off of B1 leg and it went into the back court and then A1 retreaved the ball. Is that back court or not? My partner was there and didnt call back court. I was in the "C" and was watching the play.
Rob, if you were the trail on the play would YOU have called a b/c violation?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2007, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
Did your partner start/continue the 10 second count?
He wouldn't have continued the 10 second count b/c he is in the front court.

A more complete question: Did your partner start the 10 second count when the ball touched the floor in the backcourt?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2007, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Rob, if you were the trail on the play would YOU have called a b/c violation?
If I dont know, I dont blow!!!!!! I thought I had seen about everything, but I guess not!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2007, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart
A more complete question: Did your partner start the 10 second count when the ball touched the floor in the backcourt?
I thought the 10 second count started when it was touched in his backcourt? Not when it touches the floor.

Last edited by Indianaref; Mon Apr 09, 2007 at 11:15am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2007, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
I thought the 10 second count started when it was touched in the backcourt? Not when it touches the floor.
Take a look at 10-8, then review when team control begins and ends.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2007, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Take a look at 10-8, then review when team control begins and ends.
Thanks Mark, when it touches the floor, team control had been established.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2007, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
Thanks Mark, when it touches the floor, team control had been established.
The difference is where the ball came from....on a throwin, team control doesn't start until someone is holding/dribbling the ball in bounds, not when it touches the floor. However, in this case, the ball was already inbounds and was in team control. So, team control is never lost and the count begings when the ball (still being in team control) touches the backcourt.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2007, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
The difference is where the ball came from....on a throwin, team control doesn't start until someone is holding/dribbling the ball in bounds, not when it touches the floor. However, in this case, the ball was already inbounds and was in team control. So, team control is never lost and the count begings when the ball (still being in team control) touches the backcourt.
Yep.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back Court? JB Basketball 4 Wed Jan 25, 2006 01:18pm
back court or not???? fastballbaker Basketball 17 Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:18pm
back court JWalker Basketball 11 Mon Apr 29, 2002 01:39pm
Back court or not???? Josh Ovens Basketball 9 Mon Feb 11, 2002 02:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1