The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2009, 09:21pm
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
4.44.3 sit C

4.44.3 Situation C: A1 receives a pass and establishes the right foot as the pivot. While faking a pass or try, A1 lifts the pivot foot and stands on the left foot alone while undecided as to what to do. Has A1 traveled? RULING: No. Traveling would occur only if A1 begins a dribble or returns the pivot foot to the floor. While in this position A1 may pass, try for goal or call a time-out.

What if A1 hops on the left foot?

I had a play where girl is trying to navigate in heavy traffic. She jumps off of right foot (pivot), lands on left foot and then hops on that left foot. I called a traveling violation because I saw a player hopping on one foot, but the more I have thought about it, I can't figure how to justify my call by rule. The pivot foot did not return to the floor -- at least, not before I blew my whistle!

Could the player just hop down the court?
__________________
-- #thereferee99

Last edited by referee99; Mon Jan 12, 2009 at 09:25pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1