Thread: 4.44.3 sit C
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2009, 09:21pm
referee99 referee99 is offline
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
4.44.3 sit C

4.44.3 Situation C: A1 receives a pass and establishes the right foot as the pivot. While faking a pass or try, A1 lifts the pivot foot and stands on the left foot alone while undecided as to what to do. Has A1 traveled? RULING: No. Traveling would occur only if A1 begins a dribble or returns the pivot foot to the floor. While in this position A1 may pass, try for goal or call a time-out.

What if A1 hops on the left foot?

I had a play where girl is trying to navigate in heavy traffic. She jumps off of right foot (pivot), lands on left foot and then hops on that left foot. I called a traveling violation because I saw a player hopping on one foot, but the more I have thought about it, I can't figure how to justify my call by rule. The pivot foot did not return to the floor -- at least, not before I blew my whistle!

Could the player just hop down the court?
__________________
-- #thereferee99

Last edited by referee99; Mon Jan 12, 2009 at 09:25pm.
Reply With Quote