Thread: 4.44.3 sit C
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2009, 09:51pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
4.44.3 Situation C: A1 receives a pass and establishes the right foot as the pivot. While faking a pass or try, A1 lifts the pivot foot and stands on the left foot alone while undecided as to what to do. Has A1 traveled? RULING: No. Traveling would occur only if A1 begins a dribble or returns the pivot foot to the floor. While in this position A1 may pass, try for goal or call a time-out.

What if A1 hops on the left foot?

I had a play where girl is trying to navigate in heavy traffic. She jumps off of right foot (pivot), lands on left foot and then hops on that left foot. I called a traveling violation because I saw a player hopping on one foot, but the more I have thought about it, I can't figure how to justify my call by rule. The pivot foot did not return to the floor -- at least, not before I blew my whistle!

Could the player just hop down the court?

A1 has committed traveling. See the definition of traveling in NFHS Rule 4, NCAA Rule 4, and FIBA Rule 5.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote