![]() |
|
|
|||
Held Ball
A1 driving to the basket, still has two hands on the ball as he goes up for the shot. B1 gets his hand on the ball and it causes A1 to lose balance. However, before landing A1 throws the ball up over his head in order to prevent a traveling call.
Is this a held ball? Does the fact the he eventually releases the ball negate the held ball? I called held ball. 4.25.2 makes me question that because it says its a held ball because the player was prevented from releasing the ball to try a shot or a pass. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
answer your own question -
Did the ball leave A1's hands while B1 had hand(s) on the ball?
If not you made the right call - losing his balance is irrelivant to the held ball itself. No if during the try B! prevented the ball from being released it is a held ball right there!
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. Last edited by OHBBREF; Tue Jan 13, 2009 at 04:24pm. |
|
|||
This is what I was thinking as well. Does the fact that act of shooting doesn't end until the airborne shooter comes to the ground in this case mean anything? The hand on the ball doesn't end the shot attempt and A1 did release the ball....granted once you blow your whistle you have a dead ball and a held ball, but if you watch this play all the way through before making this call do you let it go? Tough call if the ball goes in the basket....
|
|
|||
Quote:
the ball could have been stopped from being released and as A lost their balance the ball came free and was released. the initial stoppage could be considered a held ball. I am more inclined to think that is what happened here.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
Quote:
The interpretation listed in the case books adds a phrase not in the rule book. The use of the term "immediately" in Case 4.25.2 has caused too many officials to erroneously interpret this as when B contacts the ball in airborne A's possession. A held ball can not be determined until resulting action takes place. In (a) the resulting action that caused the HB is A's airborne player touched the ground with the ball still in possession. B PREVENTED him from shooting. As for 4.25.2b that sounds more like a blocked shot. No HB. |
|
|||
I think a patient whistle is a good way to settle this.
If A has the ball and is going up for a shot while B has their hands on the ball, watching the play all the way through to see if A can muscle through the potential held ball to get their shot off, then the official should let the play go on. However, if he/she can't play through it, a held ball should be called. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
fixed it.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Held ball? | turnit | Basketball | 12 | Sun Dec 21, 2008 12:03am |
OOB vs. Held Ball | Raymond | Basketball | 27 | Tue Jan 23, 2007 03:17am |
Held ball | faitheagle | Basketball | 4 | Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:54am |
held ball | coachgrd | Basketball | 49 | Sat Jan 22, 2005 02:46pm |
Held Ball | whistleblower | Basketball | 5 | Mon Nov 25, 2002 06:24pm |