The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Question

When can the same team have back to back possessions on a held ball?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 10:22am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,472
Quote:
Originally posted by faitheagle
When can the same team have back to back possessions on a held ball?
If the out of bounds thrower allows the defender to get a held ball, you will have to continually give the ball back to the same team if they had the arrow. The AP arrow does not change in that case. You could continually give the ball back to the team with the arrow in that case if there thrower back to back held balls during the throw-in.

That is the only case I can think of at this point.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Any time a foul is committed (by either team) before the AP throw-in is completed, the foul is penalized and the arrow is not changed. So the same team will get the next AP throw-in. This is b/c technically, that team never actually got to make its throw-in after the held ball, b/c of the foul.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
I guess there's always the chance the table forgot to switch the arrow as well. Although, a good official will keep track of possession in his/her head and help correct the table if necessary.

I would be curious as to why faitheagle was asking.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 23, 2005, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,019
Let me add the instance where Team A has the last held ball of the 4th quarter, then team B wins the tip to start the OT. Team A will get the arrow, and have "back to back" held ball posessions.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1