The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 210
Foul on shot causes travel.

As a player is going up for a try he is bumped. The bump causes the pivot foot that had been lifted on the try to return to the floor before the ball is released. The ball is released shortly after the pivot foot returns to the floor and the ball goes through the basket.
Do you count the basket or award two shots and disallow the basket.
I have also seen the bump cause the shooter to drag his pivot foot before releasing the ball on the try.
Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 09:46am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I doubt if I'll see this travel if I'm watching the contact/foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Why would you disallow the basket? He was in the act of shooting.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 09:54am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I will add if it's an airborne shooter who gets fouled, once he returns to the floor with the ball, it's gonna be two shots.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 02:45pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I will add if it's an airborne shooter who gets fouled, once he returns to the floor with the ball, it's gonna be two shots.


Snaqs:

Don't be so quick with that response. NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules:

PLAY: A1 is dribbling toward Team A's basket. While both feet are in the air, A1 stops his dribble by gathering (with apologies to the NBA) the ball into both hands. In one continuous motion A1 lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot and lands on his right foot, then jumps off is right foot, and then releases the ball for a field goal attempt. The field goal attempt is successful.

QUESTION: If A1 is fouled at any point after he stopped his dribble and before he returns to the floor after releasing the ball for his field goal attepmt, has he be fouled in the act of shooting?

RULING: Yes. A1 was airborne three (3) different times during his field goal attempt. See NFHS Rules R4-S11-A1 and A2. The NCAA and FIBA rules concur.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 02:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Good point, Mark. Obviously, that's not the play I was envisioning.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Snaqs:

Don't be so quick with that response. NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules:

PLAY: A1 is dribbling toward Team A's basket. While both feet are in the air, A1 stops his dribble by gathering (with apologies to the NBA) the ball into both hands. In one continuous motion A1 lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot and lands on his right foot, then jumps off is right foot, and then releases the ball for a field goal attempt. The field goal attempt is successful.

QUESTION: If A1 is fouled at any point after he stopped his dribble and before he returns to the floor after releasing the ball for his field goal attepmt, has he be fouled in the act of shooting?

RULING: Yes. A1 was airborne three (3) different times during his field goal attempt. See NFHS Rules R4-S11-A1 and A2. The NCAA and FIBA rules concur.
I talk about FIBA rules: the act of shooting ends when the player returns with both feet on the floor after releasing the ball (15.2).

But the problem of the OP is different; Robert was only asking about the basket, not about shooting attempt. It's clear that traveling before releasing the ball, but after being fouled, causes the ball to become dead: wave off the basket and award two FT. But I concur with others in saying that I'd not be looking very closely to the fouled player's feet.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 03:53pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Snaqs:

Don't be so quick with that response. NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules:

PLAY: A1 is dribbling toward Team A's basket. While both feet are in the air, A1 stops his dribble by gathering (with apologies to the NBA) the ball into both hands. In one continuous motion A1 lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot and lands on his right foot, then jumps off is right foot, and then releases the ball for a field goal attempt. The field goal attempt is successful.

QUESTION: If A1 is fouled at any point after he stopped his dribble and before he returns to the floor after releasing the ball for his field goal attepmt, has he be fouled in the act of shooting?

RULING: Yes. A1 was airborne three (3) different times during his field goal attempt. See NFHS Rules R4-S11-A1 and A2. The NCAA and FIBA rules concur.

MTD, Sr.
I'd have to see this play, but I don't picture a shooting motion that starts before the first landing in this case.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
Why would you disallow the basket? He was in the act of shooting.
The act of shooting ends when an airborne shooter returns to the floor.

Two FTs, no basket.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 11:31am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
ROBERT E. HARRISON
"As a player is going up for a try he is bumped"
ROBERT E. HARRISON
"The bump causes the pivot foot that had been lifted on the try to return to the floor before the ball is released. The ball is released shortly after the pivot foot returns to the floor and the ball goes through the basket."

Therefore what BBR & Juggler says is correct.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
If you are quick enough to realize that the foul caused the travel, then you should be quick enough to know that the "travel" ends the try and no points can then be awarded...

Shoot 2 FT's and score no points.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater View Post
ROBERT E. HARRISON
"The bump causes the pivot foot that had been lifted on the try to return to the floor before the ball is released. The ball is released shortly after the pivot foot returns to the floor and the ball goes through the basket."

Therefore what BBR & Juggler says is correct.
Yes. You and Bob are correct. Continuous motion does not apply since the violation occurred and before the ball had left his hand. 2 shots.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 10:00am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I doubt if I'll see this travel if I'm watching the contact/foul.
I just had this the other night. A1 gathers for his shot, gets bumped, then drags his pivot foot before releasing the ball.

Also what about a fast break where the player gathers for the shot, takes a hard smack, then takes an extra step before releasing the shot?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I just had this the other night. A1 gathers for his shot, gets bumped, then drags his pivot foot before releasing the ball.

Also what about a fast break where the player gathers for the shot, takes a hard smack, then takes an extra step before releasing the shot?
SECTION 11 CONTINUOUS MOTION
ART. 1 . . . Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight.
ART. 2 . . . If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight.

ART. 3 . . . Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 10:02am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I just had this the other night. A1 gathers for his shot, gets bumped, then drags his pivot foot before releasing the ball.

Also what about a fast break where the player gathers for the shot, takes a hard smack, then takes an extra step before releasing the shot?
I'll probably count those, just because I'm not watching the feet so closely when I've already called contact.

Have you ever seen a high level official wave a shot off for this reason? I haven't, and I doubt I'd want to be the first.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul After Shot actuary77 Basketball 7 Fri Dec 08, 2006 02:36pm
Foul? Travel? Held ball? ChuckElias Basketball 10 Wed Dec 28, 2005 08:05pm
Foul? Travel? ChuckElias Basketball 20 Mon Nov 28, 2005 02:51pm
travel then hard foul oc Basketball 5 Mon Mar 14, 2005 09:35am
Double whistle, foul or travel davidw Basketball 6 Thu Feb 07, 2002 04:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1