The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
In this, if it is clear that the player is just upset at himself, I would let it go and have a word with him. If there is more time on the clock I would just blow the whistle for an officials time out and have the same word with player.
Shirley - you jest!

An official does not have the authority to charge a timeout to himself
fed.
rule 5 section 8
NOTE: When a player is injured as in Art. 2(a), the official may suspend play after the ball is dead or is in control of the injured player's team or when the opponents complete a play. A play is completed when a team loses control (including throwing for goal) or withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. When necessary to protect an injured player, the official may immediately suspend play.

for NCAA case play rule sites
A.R. 128. When an official on his or her own initiative stops play to protect
an injured player, should a timeout be charged to the team?
RULING: No. After stopping play, the official should ask the player
if the player desires a timeout. When the player does not, play shall
be resumed immediately. When the player is not ready to resume play
immediately, a substitution is required or his/her team may request a
timeout. No official has the authority to charge a timeout to himself
or herself.
(Rule 5-10.6 and 5-13.2)


I do not believe there is a difference in FED.
but to do that to discuss not giving a player a T
you might have a problem there
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
We stop the clock for many reasons. If after a score the ball takes an odd bounce and rolls under the bleachers. To tie ones shoes. Whatever. This is a stoppage of play for about 3-5 seconds.

As for how high the ball goes -- I dont care -- it could enter orbit, height has no bearing on whether or not I T, it certainly doesn't when it comes to a legal dribble or not as well.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
Shirley - you jest!

An official does not have the authority to charge a timeout to himself
Does it really matter what we call it?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Does it really matter what we call it?
Well it does matter but that wasn't really my point,
my point was that he was going to take time out /suspend play to discuss the behavior of player who had slammed the ball "into the rafters" according to the OP.
Even if that is just in frustration that has to be a T.
The child has to learn to take responsibility for their actions and control themselves and saying it doesn't matter how high they slam it you are not going to T - them you are going to talk them down is a problem for the game.
you are not there to be a counsler.

Yes I have done it with kids - used some dead ball time to stop a situation from going any further, with two players involved yes, but not for something that would be this blatant.

I am just saying do not go coaching and counseling players individually in situations where everyone already thinks there should be a T.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
Well it does matter but that wasn't really my point,...
I agreed with you on the rest...ball goes that high, it's will be a T under all but a most extreme set of circumstances.

As for what we call it. I don't agree that it matters. It is NOT the same as "reaching in", "over the back", etc. Those miscommunicate what happens in a way that is detrimental...implying what could be an entirely legal act as being illegal. We could call such a stoppage a respite, a lull, a break, or any other synonym for all anyone would care and it would never make a difference.

It is even more irrelevant of an argument than worrying about whether a coach requests or calls timeout and on par with whether you call it an endline or a baseline.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Interesting Day tjones1 General / Off-Topic 4 Mon Sep 18, 2006 01:54pm
interesting boo-boo lrpalmer3 Basketball 56 Wed Sep 22, 2004 01:29pm
Very Interesting His High Holiness Baseball 1 Tue Jul 13, 2004 03:15pm
This could be interesting. whiskers_ump Softball 7 Wed Sep 04, 2002 06:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1