Thread: Interesting T
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2009, 04:33pm
OHBBREF OHBBREF is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
In this, if it is clear that the player is just upset at himself, I would let it go and have a word with him. If there is more time on the clock I would just blow the whistle for an officials time out and have the same word with player.
Shirley - you jest!

An official does not have the authority to charge a timeout to himself
fed.
rule 5 section 8
NOTE: When a player is injured as in Art. 2(a), the official may suspend play after the ball is dead or is in control of the injured player's team or when the opponents complete a play. A play is completed when a team loses control (including throwing for goal) or withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. When necessary to protect an injured player, the official may immediately suspend play.

for NCAA case play rule sites
A.R. 128. When an official on his or her own initiative stops play to protect
an injured player, should a timeout be charged to the team?
RULING: No. After stopping play, the official should ask the player
if the player desires a timeout. When the player does not, play shall
be resumed immediately. When the player is not ready to resume play
immediately, a substitution is required or his/her team may request a
timeout. No official has the authority to charge a timeout to himself
or herself.
(Rule 5-10.6 and 5-13.2)


I do not believe there is a difference in FED.
but to do that to discuss not giving a player a T
you might have a problem there
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote