The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 31
Not Both Feet?

Had a play in a BV game last week where B1 in an attempt to defend A1 on a fast break, while hustling to get back on D his momentum carried him off the court under A's basket. The shot was missed, the rebound was "popped" straight up by players from both teams. In returning towards the court, B1 took two steps OOB, his third step was "in-bounds" and was a "leap" towards the rebound, which he eventually recovered with one foot very near the left side block and the other in between the block and the second hash mark. I called B1 OOB because he did not have both feet back "in bounds" before he touched the ball. B's coach didn't like the call, but accepted the "he hadn't returned to the court" response.
One thing that made this play so difficult, was the fact B1 recovered the ball so far onto the court.
Have not found a clear description of "return to court" in the books.
I procured a DVD of the game, have watched it many times, and still think I was right.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by knockitoff View Post
Had a play in a BV game last week where B1 in an attempt to defend A1 on a fast break, while hustling to get back on D his momentum carried him off the court under A's basket. The shot was missed, the rebound was "popped" straight up by players from both teams. In returning towards the court, B1 took two steps OOB, his third step was "in-bounds" and was a "leap" towards the rebound, which he eventually recovered with one foot very near the left side block and the other in between the block and the second hash mark. I called B1 OOB because he did not have both feet back "in bounds" before he touched the ball. B's coach didn't like the call, but accepted the "he hadn't returned to the court" response.
One thing that made this play so difficult, was the fact B1 recovered the ball so far onto the court.
Have not found a clear description of "return to court" in the books.
I procured a DVD of the game, have watched it many times, and still think I was right.
When his third step ocurred, unless he had the other foot touching out of bounds he was in bounds. I think he should have been allowed to keep the rebound
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 01:19pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by knockitoff View Post
I called B1 OOB because he did not have both feet back "in bounds" before he touched the ball.

Something in & nothing out in bball.

B's coach didn't like the call

Good thing he didn't make a big deal about it.

I procured a DVD of the game, have watched it many times, and still think I was right.
Next time this occurs, you will know you're right

Last edited by Ch1town; Wed Dec 31, 2008 at 01:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 31
My bad, should've said "still BELIEVE I was right".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 01:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by knockitoff View Post
My bad, should've said "still BELIEVE I was right".
Lord knows I've made some calls in my time that were based on a misunderstanding of the rules. Live, call, and learn.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 01:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by knockitoff View Post
I called B1 OOB because he did not have both feet back "in bounds" before he touched the ball. B's coach didn't like the call, but accepted the "he hadn't returned to the court" response.
One thing that made this play so difficult, was the fact B1 recovered the ball so far onto the court.
Have not found a clear description of "return to court" in the books.
I procured a DVD of the game, have watched it many times, and still think I was right.
As I read this, you were wrong. There is no rule that requires both feet to be in bounds. Something in and nothing out is all that is required.

Now, this coach will complain when the next official gets the call right.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First to touch inbounds All_Heart Basketball 1 Sat Nov 18, 2006 12:22pm
Player to touch ball after going out of bounds kirtley29 Basketball 3 Thu Jan 12, 2006 08:25am
First to touch ball after stepping out of bounds ridavis13 Basketball 6 Tue Jan 11, 2005 03:45pm
Out of Bounds - Inbounds #55 imaref Basketball 3 Mon Dec 13, 2004 10:57pm
Inbounds or out of bounds Suppref Basketball 3 Fri Aug 11, 2000 03:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1