The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 519
Always a Foul?

A1 coming down on a break with the ball heading to the basket. B1 sees him coming and plants himself under the basket. A1 shoots the ball and then makes contact with B1. Contact is in the torso.

Is there ever a situation where this is a no-call? I let one go Friday night because I didn't think it had any bearing on the play. However, after thinking about it I'm not sure if I'm justified in using that as a reason to not call the PC foul.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 12:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Was B1 knocked to the floor?

Use the same logic you would for any foul; there is no provision in the rules for ignoring this simply because it's under the basket; it's legitimate defense.

If B1 was disadvantaged or displaced by the contact, call it; if it didn't affect him, then you can let it go.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 01:01pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Did A1 have at least one foot return to the court prior to contact?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
A1 coming down on a break with the ball heading to the basket. B1 sees him coming and plants himself under the basket. A1 shoots the ball and then makes contact with B1. Contact is in the torso.

Is there ever a situation where this is a no-call? I let one go Friday night because I didn't think it had any bearing on the play. However, after thinking about it I'm not sure if I'm justified in using that as a reason to not call the PC foul.
It's a judgment play. If you thought that A1 put B1 to the floor, i's an easy P/C. If you thought that B1 flopped, then it's a tougher decision. Even if B1 gave ground, if the contact by A1 was "to and through" the defender and B1 had LGP, it's a charge.

Some block/charge plays are 50/50's, even when you look at them on tape later. In general, I think a no-call seems to get us in more trouble than anything else.
__________________
"To learn, you have to listen. To improve, you have to try." (Thomas Jefferson)
Z
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2008, 01:24pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebraman View Post
It's a judgment play. If you thought that A1 put B1 to the floor, i's an easy P/C. If you thought that B1 flopped, then it's a tougher decision. Even if B1 gave ground, if the contact by A1 was "to and through" the defender and B1 had LGP, it's a charge.

Some block/charge plays are 50/50's, even when you look at them on tape later. In general, I think a no-call seems to get us in more trouble than anything else.
Agreed. I had a play last week where a player stepped in front of me and blocked my view of the contact. BOTH players went down, but I just wasn't sure that I knew what happened and we WERE working 3-person and I was hoping one of the other two officials would step up.

In retrospect, even guessing *might* have been better because neither partner came in with a call -- and when I asked the other two officials, one thought it was a PC foul and the other thought it was a block. The drive was started above the top of the key (T's primary) and went right down the middle of the lane and the lesson I took away was that pinching the paint would've helped me avoid being screened.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul where distance gained prior to foul wwcfoa43 Football 15 Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:04pm
Foul tip caught, foul ball, or out? bossman72 Baseball 9 Sun Jul 09, 2006 11:03pm
offensive foul, defensive foul or no call? thereluctantref Basketball 2 Mon Mar 13, 2006 01:12pm
Anger over referee's foul calls triggers a bigger foul after game BktBallRef Basketball 10 Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:36am
USSSA Foul tip vs. Foul ball sunfudblu Baseball 2 Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1